The new aubergine Aga stove has three ovens, each maintaining heat for a specific function: roasting, baking, or simmering. Two hot plates—one set for boiling, one for simmering—are on the cooktop. “You tend to use the cooktop to get foods started and then transfer to the oven,” Jennifer says.

Stainless steel covers on the Aga stove top keep hot plates warm. One hot plate is preset at a high temperature, for boiling. The other is set low, for simmering.

The pleated skirt beneath the sink and the window cafe curtain are fashioned from a large-scale burgundy check fabric from Brunschwig & Fils. The Roman shade is made with Pierre Frey’s “Erevan” jacquard.

Matching settees from Oly Studio covered in a Pierre Frey “Anatolie” fabric flank a Dennis & Leen table.

Open shelves attached to the marble tile backsplash and custom-painted cabinets reflect furniture detailing.

A single-lever Herbeau bronze faucet with wood-trimmed handle is in keeping with the historical feel of the home, a former carriage house and horse stable.

Simple Craftsman-style brass light fixtures from Visual Comfort hang above the center island, illuminating the room without demanding too much attention.

Brass trim and distressed painted finishes on the new island from French Heritage inspired hardware, paint colors, and wood choices for the rest of the kitchen.

Homeowner Jennifer Chafkin, right, admired designer Liz Caan’s own home before recruiting her to help with the Chafkins’ renovation.

Function and Efficiency

See how a serious cook who wanted pro-style equipment in her kitchen also made sure it was beautiful, in Kitchen Remodel: Function and Efficiency.

You are here

Cozy Kitchen with Warm Colors

An aubergine Aga stove drives a kitchen makeover

Written by Amy Elbert
Slide 1 Of Cozy Kitchen with Warm Colors
Slide 2 Of Cozy Kitchen with Warm Colors
Slide 3 Of Cozy Kitchen with Warm Colors
Slide 4 Of Cozy Kitchen with Warm Colors
Slide 5 Of Cozy Kitchen with Warm Colors
Slide 6 Of Cozy Kitchen with Warm Colors
Slide 7 Of Cozy Kitchen with Warm Colors
Slide 8 Of Cozy Kitchen with Warm Colors
Slide 9 Of Cozy Kitchen with Warm Colors
Slide 10 Of Cozy Kitchen with Warm Colors
Slide 11 Of Cozy Kitchen with Warm Colors
Michael Partenio

The pleated skirt beneath the sink and the window cafe curtain are fashioned from a large-scale burgundy check fabric from Brunschwig & Fils. The Roman shade is made with Pierre Frey’s “Erevan” jacquard.

Cabinetry (custom): Fallon Fine Cabinetry, 781/237-0505, falloncustomhomes.com
Cabinetry finishing (custom): Wayne Towle, 781/449-1313, waynetowle.com
Hardware and brass poles (hand-crafted): Sun Valley Bronze, 866/788-3631, sunvalleybronze.com
Crown molding; wood accents: cherry.
Flooring: reclaimed.
Range: Aga Ranges Inc., 866/424-2487, aga-ranges.com
Island (“Gourmet Kitchen Island” #M-FML-199, cherry and mahogany): French Heritage, 800/245-0899, frenchheritage.com
Countertop (Bianco Carrara marble); backsplash (“Honed Bianco Carrara Beveled Tile,” 4x8-inch): Discover Tile, 617/330-7900, discovertile.com
Fabrication and installation: Selva Stone, 508/303-3200, selvastone.com
Sink (“Luberon Fireclay Farmhouse Sink” #4603); faucet (“Estelle Single-Lever Mixer” #4103): Herbeau Creations of America, 800/547-1608, herbeau.com
Hanging lights over island (“Siena Four-Light Pendant” #SS5002); hanging light over sink (discontinued): Circa Lighting, 877/762-2323, circalighting.com
Café curtain and sink drapery: Brunschwig & Fils, 800/538-1880, brunschwig.com
Roman shade fabric (“Erevan”/Prune #F2592005): Pierre Frey, 866/707-1524, pierrefrey.com
Window treatment fabrication and installation: A.R. Steers & Assoc., 978/371-7825.
Ceiling paint (“White Dove” #OC-17): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com
Painter: Joseph Bruno Painting, 781/461-9482.
Area rug: owner’s collection.
Copper stock pot: Williams-Sonoma, 800/541-2233, williams-sonoma.com
Woven basket: Pottery Barn, 800/922-5507, potterybarn.com
Ceramic pots (by Ben and Guy Wolff): Guy Wolff Pottery, 860/567-5577, guywolff.com

Comments

Loading comments...