Nisbet's preferred route began with neutrals on the main floor, with the living room that stretches into the dining area, which edges onto the kitchen. "Initially I brought in sandy, muted tones," she notes. Beach-like, to be precise. "She kept the backgrounds and major furnishings neutral with these golden colors," explains Elizabeth Bailey, Nisbet's protégé on the project, who has since joined her staff as a full-time junior designer and project manager. The living room's Henredon sofa and pair of matched chairs are covered in a silk fabric the color of moist sand on a sunny morning. Nisbet papered the walls and added a rug in the same sandy hue, and she lightened the oak floors "to look cerused." She draped the windows in her own fabric, "Airdrie," a golden silk she designed with a slight undulation that suggests watercolored waves.

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

Amanda Nisbet covered a chocolate-finish Somerset Bay dining table with an acrylic top to step up the allure of her Lucite cube stools.

"Amanda liked the idea of relating to the sea," Bailey explains, "but with brighter, a little more punched-up colors." Instead of wielding a calm sea- or sky-blue palette, Nisbet introduced brilliant bursts of peacock blue in the living and dining areas. That hue, in silk on the Lucite dining stools, triggers a tart visual rush that dissolves into deliciousness, like the first bite into a sour-apple gum ball. "Plus, I love that little bit of elegance you get with Lucite," says the designer.

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

The deck off the main floor's living/dining area has Summer Classics furniture upholstered in weather-resistant Sunbrella fabrics. The Sunbrella throw and rug add subtle pattern. The planter is from Just Terraces.

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

The kitchen features white Wood-Mode cabinets that are accented with a sandy-hue backsplash of genuine onyx tiles from Ann Sacks and a Caesarstone quartz countertop. "The onyx tiles bring incredible richness to the kitchen," says Nisbet.

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

A pair of Kohler sinks and faucets face off on either side of the U-shaped space that's outfitted with Jenn-Air appliances. Oak flooring throughout is from H.S. Woodwrights.

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

Henredon tiered tables with chunky crystal lamps from Circa Lighting flank the master bedroom's Louis J. Solomon bamboo headboard. The bed is dressed with "Sanibel" shams and duvet cover from Peacock Alley. Fabric on headboard and bedskirt is "Tibet" from S. Harris. Drapery and bolster fabric is a print silk in chartreuse and white by Nisbet. Wall and trim paint from Ralph Lauren helps set the mood.

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

In the master bath, a pair of Kohler's "Chalkstripe" vanities are accented with a duo of luxe mirrors from Modern History. Marble tiles from Ann Sacks.

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

"Lizzie's Room," designed for a college-bound teen, sports a custom daybed from Albert Menin Interiors covered in S. Harris linen. The same fabric in "Silver Cloud" trims draperies in Nisbet's own fabric to coordinate with shades from Hunter Douglas. An abaca rug covers the room's floor.

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

The cozy "B. Happy" room is Nisbet's version of a family/media room, perfect for cocooning and old movies (the TV is located at the "wide" end of the room) on facing American Leather Ultrasuede sofas with long lumbar pillows. Indigo striped walls are lightened by silver-leaf ceiling paper from Phillip Jeffries Ltd.; trim paint is Ralph Lauren. Henredon's "Cara" mirrors add shape, as does Tamarian's "Diamond Swirl" rug atop a black sisal carpet. Roman shade is a Fabricut fabric.

"It's a fun, happy hangout," says Nisbet, who ensured that result by adding unexpected bubble-gum pink piping to the sofas. "People couldn't believe the pink welting, but it's just the happy lift I wanted."

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

Not tethered by too many design rules, Amanda Nisbet's refined traditional interiors pulsate with fresh energy. Since opening her own design firm in Manhattan in 1998, her high-profile clients have included comedian Caroline Rhea and O magazine publisher Jill Seelig. A sizable amount of her work is for clients with growing children. They look to her for sophisticated style that's family-friendly. Nisbet brought that expertise, as well as her signature manipulation of color and form, to Traditional Home's Oceans 3 Showhouse.

As part of the project, she was asked to mentor a design student through the creative process. Nisbet's protégé, Elizabeth Bailey (right), studied at Parsons the New School for Design in New York City, after obtaining an English degree from Princeton and working as an editor for House & Garden. "I learned all about comfortable elegance from Amanda," says Bailey, who has since joined Nisbet's staff full-time as a junior designer and project manager. Nisbet's work has been published in a variety of design publications. No stranger to designer showhouses, she has participated in both Kips Bay and Hampton showhouses.

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

Producing a showhouse requires team effort, and we could not have created ours without the work and generous support of many individuals and businesses. A hearty and heartfelt thanks to our sponsors, contributors, and participants.

Showhouse Sponsors
American Leather, americanleather.com, trade only.
Belgard Hardscapes, 800/899-8455, belgard.biz.
Circa Lighting, 877/762-2323, circalighting.com, trade only. DCS by
Fisher & Paykel, 888/936-7872, dcsappliances.com.
Fabricut, 800/999-8200, fabricut.com, trade only.
Henredon, 800/444-3682, henredon.com.
Hunter Douglas Inc., 800/274-2985, hunterdouglas.com.
Jenn-Air, 800/536-6247, jennair.com.
Just Terraces, 877/570-4847, justterraces.com.
Kohler Co., 800/456-4537, kohler.com.
Lutron Electronics, 610/282-3800, lutron.com.
Megerian Rugs, 877/634-3742, megerianrugs.com.
Modern History, 336/869-9714, modernhistoryhome.com.
Peacock Alley, 800/810-0708, peacockalley.com.
Ralph Lauren Paint, 800/379-7656, ralphlaurenpaint.com.
Rocky Mountain Hardware, 888/788-2013, rockymountainhardware.com.
S. Harris, 800/999-5600. sharris.com, trade only.
Somerset Bay, 336/869-9714, somersetbayhome.com.
Summer Classics, 205/987-3100, summerclassics.com.
Sunbrella, 336/221-2211, sunbrella.com; outdoorspaces.com.
Tamarian, 800/854-0538, tamarian.com, trade only.
Trane, trane.com.
Vervain, 800/611-8686, vervain.com, trade only.
Wood-Mode Inc., 877/635-7500, wood-mode.com.

Showhouse Contributors
Andersen Windows Inc., 800/426-4261, andersenwindows.com.
Ann Sacks, 800/278-8453, annsacks.com.
Broan-NuTone, LLC, 800/558-1711, broan.com.
Caesarstone Quartz Surfaces, 877/978-2789, caesarstoneus.com.
Chesney's, 646/840-0609 and 404/948-1111, chesneys.co.uk.com.
Leiberts Royal Green Appliances, 914/949-5999, lrgappl.com.
Louis J. Solomon, 631/232-5300, louisjsolomon.com, trade only.
Ocean Spray Hot Tubs & Saunas, 631/288-6006, oceanspraypoolsandspas.com. Phillip Jeffries Ltd., 973/575-5414, phillipjeffries.com, trade only.
Ralph Lauren Home, 888/475-7674, ralphlaurenhome.com.
Sharp Electronics Corp., 800/237-4277, sharpusa.com.
Tufenkian Carpets, 800/432-9917, tufenkiancarpets.com.
Woodwrights Wide Plank Flooring, 631/727-9691, woodwrightswideplank.com.

Participants
Alain Saint-Joanis, alain-saint-joanis.com. Available through The Elegant Egg Cup, 212/288-2660.
Albert Menin Interiors Ltd., 212/876-3041.
Barreveld International, 845/265-6052, barreveld.com.
Blue Tree NYC, 212/369-2583, bluetreenyc.com.
Calypso Home, 212/925-6200.
Charlotte Moss, charlottemoss.com.
Colonial Mills, 800/343-9339, colonialmills.com.
Demo Custom Cabinets Inc., democustom.com.
Downtown Furniture Inc., 800/966-7088, downtownfurniturenyc.com.
Duane Modern, 212/625-8066, duanemodern.com.
Evans & Brown for Koroseal, 877/926-3667, koroseal.com.
Gracious Home, 800/338-7809, gracioushome.com.
Home James, East Hampton, 631/324-2307, homejameseasthampton.com.
John Derian, 212/677-3917, johnderian.com.
John Koch Antiques, 212/799-2167, kochantiques.com.
M&J Trimming, 800/965-8746, mjtrim.com.
MyKnobs.com, 866/695-6627, myknobs.com.
New Day Woodwork, 718/275-1721, ext. 221, newdaywoodwork.com.
Odegard Inc., 800/670-8836, odegardinc.com, trade only.
PB Teen, 866/472-4001, pbteen.com.
Perimeters, 631/324-2848, perimetersforthehome.com.
Romo Fabrics, 800/338-2783, romofabrics.com, trade only.
Roost, 415/339-9500, roostco.com, trade only.
Samuel & Sons, 212/704-8000, samuelandsons.com, trade only.
Skyframe Inc., 212/925-7856, skyframeinc.com.
Soicher Marin Gallery, 310/679-5000, soicher-marin.com.
Steven Harsey Textiles, 800/776-6999, stevenharsey.com, trade only.
Tapp Francke Photography, 631/726-0363, franckephotography.com.
Target, 800/800-8800, target.com.
Textillary, 213/745-4446, textillary.com.
The Natural Carpet Co., 310/664-1420, naturalcarpetcompany.com.
The Urban Electric Co., 843/723-8140, urbanelectricco.com, trade only.
Tria Giovan Photography, triagiovan.com.
Uncommon Goods, 888/365-0056, uncommongoods.com.
Vermont Castings, vermontcastings.com.

You are here

Oceans 3 Showhouse: The Bold and the Beautiful

A stunning oceanfront condominium designed by Amanda Nisbet 

Written by Candace Ord Manroe
Slide 1 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:The Bold and the Beautiful
Slide 2 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:The Bold and the Beautiful
Slide 3 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:The Bold and the Beautiful
Slide 4 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:The Bold and the Beautiful
Slide 5 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:The Bold and the Beautiful
Slide 6 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:The Bold and the Beautiful
Slide 7 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:The Bold and the Beautiful
Slide 8 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:The Bold and the Beautiful
Slide 9 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:The Bold and the Beautiful
Slide 10 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:The Bold and the Beautiful
Slide 11 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:The Bold and the Beautiful
Slide 12 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse: The Bold and the Beautiful
Slide 13 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:The Bold and the Beautiful
Slide 14 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse: The Bold and the Beautiful
  • Prev
  • Next
  • 1 of 15
John Bessler

Amanda Nisbet is the first to proclaim she is "no enemy to any color!" The New York interior designer is also the first to know when to rein it in. Like a peacock fanning its plumes, then pulling them tight again, her palette performs a strut-and-restrain ritual in the oceanfront condominium she designed for Traditional Home's Oceans 3 Showhouse-one of three residential retreats designed by three notable New York designers and their protégés. (Look for the other two, by designers Eric Cohler and Philip Gorrivan, in upcoming issues of Traditional Home.) All three units belong to a freshly renovated 50-year-old Panoramic View resort located at the tip of Long Island in Montauk, where the Hamptons yield for good to the Atlantic. Perched on a hillside directly above the ocean, the 10-acre resort is being renovated by architect Alexander D. Latham III and builder Oak Gentry for developer Adam Manson of Distinctive Ventures LLC.

With every room commanding uninterrupted views of the Atlantic clear to the horizon-a high-ranking goal of the resort's renovation-the designer had little choice but to acknowledge her setting. "Of course I didn't want to forgo the sea completely," she concedes. "Blue-and-white is lovely, timeless, and classic, but I wanted to show people that there are lots of other routes they can take."

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

Interior design: Amanda Nisbet Design Inc., 1326 Madison Ave., Suite 64, New York, NY 10128; 212/860-9133, amandanisbetdesign.com.
Developer: Distinctive Ventures, LLC, 310 Northern Blvd., Great Neck, NY 11021; 516/482-2155 and sales division, 631/668-3000, distinctiveventures.com.
Builder: Gentry Construction Co. Inc., 201 Montauk Highway, Suite 7, Westhampton Beach, NY 11978; 631/288-9004, gentryinc.com.
Architect: ADL III Architecture PC, 24 Woodbine Ave., Suite 1, Northport, NY 11768; 631/754-4450, adl3.com.

Photography: John Bessler

Sofa ("Romney" #H0760C, Upholstered Furniture Collection); upholstered
chairs ("Kensington''#A6620, Acquisitions Upholstery Collection with silk fabric #99-8008-1): Henredon.
Sofa fabric ("Darhan''/Almond, color 01): S. Harris.
Trim on body of sofa ("Jute''): M&J Trimmings. Jute border on sofa skirt ("Losange''/Natural #977-33280,91): Samuel & Sons, trade only.
Blue sofa pillow ("Venue''/Carribean, velvet): Vervain.
Yellow throw pillows ("Fife''/Lemon #40012-0002): Sunbrella.
Mantel ("The Alhambra,'' Contemporary Collection): Chesney's.
Fireplace surround and hearthstone ("Lagos Blue'' #4350) Caesarstone Quartz Surfaces.
Gas fireplace ("Majestic'' UV36RP): Vermont Castings.
Area rug ("Variations Tempo Rug''/Opal): Tufenkian.
Door and trim paint ("Picket Fence White''); ceiling paint ("Design Studio White''): Ralph Lauren Paint.
Cork console tables (custom); white gesso mirrors (custom): Demo Custom Cabinets Inc.
Drapery and throw pillow ("Airdrie'' print silk); round bunching tables in front of sofa; lumbar pillows and seat cushion on white chair ("Chip'' print); linen pillow ("Pommes de Terre''); rush basket; books; silver seashell; silver fruit on coffee table; aqua mercury-glass vases; chrome stool/table; Lucite stool (custom): Amanda Nisbet Design.
Blue fabric on lucite stools ("Canton Silk''/Teal, by Orient Express): through Steven Harsey Textiles.
Wicker baskets; silver pitchers: Charlotte Moss.
White chair in front of mantel: Downtown Furniture Inc.
White oval console table; marble bowl on console table: Odegard Inc., trade only.
Owl sculpture: John Derian.
Benches ("The Paris Stool'' #DM1022): Duane Modern.
Bench seats ("Chip'' silk print): Amanda Nisbet Design.
Wood candle holders: Roost.
Wallpaper ("Higashi West'' #HIA8004, by Omexco): through Romo Fabrics.
Photo over mantel (Green Wave Summer 07): Tria Giovan Photography.
Photograph (Haridrava): Tapp Francke Photography.

Comments

Loading comments...