In a bit of a departure, Gorrivan opted against including a dining table in his great room. He had something else in mind. Barstools at one kitchen counter and chairs at another suffice, tipping the scales toward informality -- exactly right for the designer's no-worries objective.

"I also wanted to convey a sense of age," the designer says. "I wanted the finishes to play off the ocean, but also to create a patina with a European feel." A Smallbone kitchen is just the ticket. The British company's bespoke cabinetry features the exquisite attention to detail that's generally associated with old-world craftsmanship. "The cabinets introduce the high level of quality that I wanted to bring to the design."

The pale-colored kitchen cabinets contrast with darker design elements. "I finished the floors in a dark walnut as a very grounding element," Gorrivan explains.

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

"I lowered the counter on the island and gave it a walnut surface for a little more elegance," Gorrivan says of his custom dining solution. "This walnut-top island is a very special dining element -- fun and informal. With chairs pulled up, it's where the family will have breakfast and other meals every day, when they're not entertaining."

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

"I envision most of the dining, especially when they're entertaining, to be outdoors on the terrace," Gorrivan says. All three levels of the villa, in fact, have private terraces and decks overlooking the ocean, creating multiple venues for alfresco meals or drinks. But while the casualness of Gorrivan's design beckons weekenders to kick back, it doesn't preclude sophistication.

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

Except in the vividly hued children's bedroom, Gorrivan stayed with a subtle palette throughout the villa. "Whenever you're decorating spaces with dramatic views, you need to honor them. I kept the palette within a small band of colors that work off the ocean, which is less than a stone's throw away." Textures in the library are layered, from the Jim Thompson fabric at the windows to the grass-cloth walls to the nubby ottoman.

Vintage rock 'n' roll album covers on the walls and vintage rock T-shirts stitched onto pillows liven up the neutral palette of the library -- the designer's favorite space. "It was a fun opportunity to introduce vintage rock 'n' roll memorabilia," he explains. "It might have been a disconnect in another environment, but it works in Montauk." This part of the decorating was a snap -- Gorrivan dipped into his personal rock 'n' roll collection for both the vintage tees and album covers.

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

A surfboard is stored in the library bathroom; the room is painted in "Houston" from Ralph Lauren Paint. "Terrezzo" tiles from Ann Sacks add color to the floors.

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

The master bedroom and bath are the most neutral spaces, exuding a spa-like serenity. "The bedroom has a real quietness about it," says the designer. One reason is the layered window treatments. Thanks to shades and opaque panels, "you can black out the room and sleep all day. It's a luxury you want from a weekend place -- one room that becomes its own little cocoon."

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

The master bath features marble tiles from Ann Sacks on the tub surround and walls. A Kalaty rug adds color to the tile floor. Bath linens are from Macy's; tub, shower, and vanities are by Kohler.

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

As in the library, grass cloth covers the walls of the guest bedroom. "I wanted to bring in texture in different ways, and I wanted to introduce layers without having too much furniture. One way of doing that is with wall coverings," Gorrivan says. Tobacco-colored grass cloth cloaks the library walls; the same wall covering in a paler, oatmeal colorway wraps the guest room for a "very enveloping, calming effect," he notes.

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

Pale green creates cool beauty on the walls in the guest bath; "Faded Silk" from Ralph Lauren Paint. The framed shell art is a reminder of what's just outside.

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

More ebullient than serene, the children's bedroom isn't just a place to catch a few winks. "It's a destination," asserts Gorrivan, who used energizing color as a draw. His room design evolved from a vintage 1960s chair by the late Danish designer Verner Panton.

"The chair was a nice place to start the scheme. It allowed me to layer on color while retaining softness," explains Gorrivan. Bright window treatments, pillows, beanbag chairs, and a multifarious striped rug keep the palette peppy. "I wanted this to be the children's own private space. They can sit around the [cloverleaf] table and play games or work puzzles. They should look forward to coming here."

Having grown up on the coast of Maine, Philip Gorrivan understands the beach lifestyle as well as anyone. Thus the Manhattan-based designer, who now resides with his wife and their two children in New York's Carnegie Hill area, made an ideal mentor for design student Cynthia Taylor on this beachfront showhouse.

Gorrivan designs "with an eye toward the future and a foot in the past." He balances antiques with modern furniture; symmetry with whimsy; and soft palettes with punches of color. His residential and commercial projects range from New York City to the UK and Canada.

Taylor is an aspiring designer who left a Wall Street career to study at the New York School of Interior Design in 2005. The pairing of protégés and mentors was an important feature of the Oceans 3 Showhouse. "It was a chance for design students to gain valuable work experience with the best in the industry," says Traditional Home editor-in-chief Ann Maine. "The Oceans 3 Showhouse was an amazing opportunity to work with a great designer like Philip Gorrivan," Taylor agrees.

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

Showhouse Sponsors
American Leather, americanleather.com, trade only.
Belgard Hardscapes, 800/899-8455, belgard.biz.
Circa Lighting, 877/762-2323, circalighting.com, trade only.
DCS by Fisher & Paykel, 888/936-7872, dcsappliances.com.
Henredon, 800/444-3682, henredon.com.
Hunter Douglas Inc., 800/274-2985, hunterdouglas.com.
Just Terraces, 877/570-4847, justterraces.com.
Kohler Co., 800/456-4537, kohler.com.
Lutron Electronics, 610/282-3800, lutron.com.
Macy’s, 800/456-2297, macys.com.
Megerian Rugs, 877/634-3742, megerianrugs.com.
Modern History, 336/869-9714, modernhistoryhome.com.
Ralph Lauren Paint, 800/379-7656, ralphlaurenpaint.com.
Rocky Mountain Hardware, 888/788-2013, rockymountainhardware.com.
Scandia Down, 800/237-5337, scandiadown.com.
Smallbone of Devizes, 800/763-0096, smallboneofdevizes.com.
Somerset Bay, 336/869-9714, somersetbayhome.com.
Summer Classics, 205/987-3100, summerclassics.com.
Sunbrella, 336/221-2211, sunbrella.com; outdoorspaces.com.
Tamarian Carpets, 800/854-0538, tamarian.com..
Trane, trane.com.
TurboChef, 866/543-6569, turbochef.com.

Showhouse Contributors
Andersen Windows Inc., 800/426-4261, andersenwindows.com.
Ann Sacks, 800/278-8453, ann sacks.com.
Broan-NuTone, LLC, 800/558-1711, broan.com.
Chesney's, 646/840-0609 and 404/948-1111, chesneys.co.uk.com.
Christy Towels, christy-towels.com.
Dedar USA, 800/493-2209, dedar-usa.com.
Duralee Fabrics, 800/275-3872, duralee.com.
Georg Jensen, 212/343-9000, georgjensen.com.
Highland Court Fabrics, 800/387-2533, highlandcourtfabrics.com.
H.S. Woodwrights Wide Plank Flooring, 631/727-9691, woodwrightswideplank.com.
Innovative Stone, 631/297-0243, innovativestone.com.
Jerry Pair Fine Furnishings, 800/909-7247, jerrypair.com.
Jim Thompson, 800/262-0336, jimthompson.com.
Kalaty, 212/ 683-7222, kalaty.com.
Leiberts Royal Green Appliances, 914/949-5999, lrgappl.com.
Louis J. Solomon, 631/232-5300, louisjsolomon.com, trade only.
Miele Inc., 800/843-7231, miele.com.
Nobilis Inc., 800/464-6670, nobilis.fr.
Phillip Jeffries Ltd., 973/575-5414, phillipjeffries.com.
Ocean Spray Hot Tubs & Saunas, 631/288-6006, oceanspraypoolsandspas.com.
Ralph Lauren Home, 888/475-7674, ralphlaurenhome.com.
Sharp Electronics Corp., 800/237-4277, sharpusa.com.
Tufenkian Carpets, 800/432-9917, tufenkiancarpets.com.

Participants
Beauvais Carpets, 212/688-2265, beauvaiscarpets.com.
Bed, Bath & Beyond, 800/462-3966, bedbathandbeyond.com.
Classic Rug Collection Inc., 888/334-0063, classicrug.com.
Daniel Barney Antiques, 212/755-2432, danielbarney.com.
Decorum Antiques & Accessories, 631/267-4040.
Delany & Long, 203/532-0010, delanyandlong.com.
Design Within Reach, 866/377-0825, dwr.com.
Duane Modern, 212/625-8066, duanemodern.com.
Jonas Everets Design, 718/387-7288, jonaseveretsdesign.com.
Leontine Linens, 800/876-4799, leontinelinens.com.
Lobel Modern, 212/242-9075, lobelmodern.com.
Maison 24, 631/537-2488, maison24.com.
Mary Ann Lembo Inc., 631/537-9062, maryannlemboantiques.com.
Mecox Gardens, 631/287-5015, mecoxgardens.com.
Samuel & Sons, 212/704-8000, samuelandsons.com.
Spanierman Modern, 212/832-1400, spaniermanmodern.com.
Sub-Zero Inc., 800/222-7820, subzero.com.
Sylvester & Co. At Home, 631/267-9777, sylvesterathome.com.
The Nanz Co., 212/367-7000.

You are here

Oceans 3 Showhouse: Beauty on the Beach

A design that embraces sea and sun as part of the Oceans 3 Showhouse

Written by Candace Ord Manroe
Slide 1 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:beauty on the beach
Slide 2 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:beauty on the beach
Slide 3 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:beauty on the beach
Slide 4 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:beauty on the beach
Slide 5 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:beauty on the beach
Slide 6 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:beauty on the beach
Slide 7 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:beauty on the beach
Slide 8 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:beauty on the beach
Slide 9 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:beauty on the beach
Slide 10 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:beauty on the beach
Slide 11 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:beauty on the beach
Slide 12 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:beauty on the beach
Slide 13 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:beauty on the beach
Slide 14 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse:beauty on the beach
Slide 15 Of Oceans 3 Showhouse: beauty on the beach
Bruce Buck

"I lowered the counter on the island and gave it a walnut surface for a little more elegance," Gorrivan says of his custom dining solution. "This walnut-top island is a very special dining element -- fun and informal. With chairs pulled up, it's where the family will have breakfast and other meals every day, when they're not entertaining."

Click here to view the entire list of Oceans 3 Showhouse sponsors, contributors, and participants, along with information on how to contact them.

Chairs at counter ("Salt Chair''/Black #12592): Design Within Reach. Refrigerator/freezer (#700TCI): Sub-Zero Inc.
Cabinetry and wall shelves (Original Handpainted Collection with Mandarin cornice detail; Light Pewter, satin impervo finish, with walnut accents); handles ("Whales Tales''): Smallbone of Devizes.
Countertops and backsplash (Taupe White Granite, polished finish): Innovative Stone. Silver-and-white bowl on counter: Decorum Antiques & Accessories.
Wine carafes on shelf (#3522 861 and #3522 860 by Ole Palsby); glass tea lights on counter ("Loop'' by Holmbäck & Quaade #3586 482); bowl on shelf under counter ("Bloom Bowl'' #3586 274 by Helle Damkjaer): Georg Jensen.
Sink ("Poise'' K-3158-NA); faucet ("Simplice'' in Stainless #K649-VS): Kohler.

Comments

Loading comments...