You are here

What Katie Did

Reclaimed barn-wood floors bring a rustic hominess to a remodeled home

Written by Sabine Rothman
  • Jonny Valiant
  • Jonny Valiant

    Love seats (discontinued); love-seat fabric; ottoman; ottoman fabric; mirror over mantel; table to left of mantel (discontinued); pair of chairs in front of mantel (discontinued); chair fabric; table beside love seat (with dog figurines): Drexel Heritage, 866/450-3434, drexelheritage.com.
    Pillows on love seat: Calypso Home, 866/422-5977, calypso-celle.com.
    White throw on ottoman: IKEA, 800/434-4532, ikea.com.
    Area rug under love seats: Blue Door Antiques, 616/456-7888.
    Mantel: original to house.
    Sculpture on mantel; lamp on table to left of mantel (vintage); wall hanging over table (box spring, vintage); black candelabra behind love seat (vintage); dog figurines (vintage): owner's collection.
    Floor lamp beside mantel ("Studio Adjustable Floor Lamp" #TOB1010): Circa Lighting, 877/762-2323, circalighting.com.
    Drapery ("Khaki Linen" #060); drapery hardware ("Bellagio Finial" 21/4 inch, Wood Collection): Casa Fiora, 866/339-7869, casafiora.com.
    Table lamp in left corner by love seat: Jamie Young, 866/295-2677, jamieyoung.com.
    Chandelier ("Eight Light Crystal Petal Chandelier" #CHC1470): Circa Lighting, 877/762-2323, circalighting.com.
    Wall paint ("Moon Goddess" #16-32); ceiling and trim paint ("Designer White" #33-1): Pratt & Lambert Paints, 800/289-7728, prattandlambert.com.

  • Jonny Valiant

    Sofa ("Le Dolce Sofa" #D601); sofa fabric; red leather chairs; leather-chair fabric; coffee table; round table beside red leather chair: Drexel Heritage, 866/450-3434, drexelheritage.com.
    Pillow on sofa: Jonathan Adler, 877/287-1910, jonathanadler.com.
    Area rug: Blue Door Antiques, 616/456-7888.

  • Jonny Valiant

    Wall paint ("Chervil" #22-30); ceiling and trim paint ("Designer White" #33-1):Pratt & Lambert Paints, 800/289-7728, prattandlambert.com. Molding (custom): Hyde Park Molding, 631/752-7837, hyde-park.com.
    Animal drawings on wall: Jess Ryan, jess.k.ryan@gmail.com.
    Chandelier ("Marigot 6-Light Chandelier with wood beads" #CHC1415): Circa Lighting, 877/762-2323, circalighting.com.
    Large round center table ("Montego"): Drexel Heritage, 866/450-3434, drexelheritage.com. Area rug: Blue Door Antiques, 616/456-7888.
    Floor lamp; lampshade: Jamie Young, 866/295-2677, jamieyoung.com.
    Figurine on piano; candlesticks on center table: Calypso Home, 866/422-5977, calypso-celle.com.
    Sconces on wall by piano (vintage); piano: owner's collection.

  • Jonny Valiant

    Animal drawings on wall: Jess Ryan, jess.k.ryan@gmail.com.
    Wall paint ("Chervil" #22-30): Pratt & Lambert Paints, 800/289-7728, prattandlambert.com.
    Molding (custom): Hyde Park Molding, 631/752-7837, hyde-park.com.

  • Jonny Valiant

    Wallpaper ("Pineapple"/Aubergine Yellow #SPW-W1004-05): Studio Printworks, 212/633-6727, studioprintworks.com.
    Stair runner: ABC Carpet & Home, 212/473-3000, abchome.com.

  • Jonny Valiant

    Table (antique): owner's collection.
    Dining chairs; chair fabric; china cabinets: Drexel Heritage, 866/450-3434, drexelheritage..com.
    Three hanging lights ("Large Eugene Hanging Light" #TOB5000); hanging light over table ("Pimlico Street Lamp with Shade" #CH5160): Circa Lighting, 877/762-2323, circalighting.com.
    Wall paint ("Vintage Claret" #3-13); ceiling and trim paint ("Designer White" #33-1): Pratt & Lambert Paints, 800/289-7728, prattandlambert.com.

  • Jonny Valiant
  • Jonny Valiant

    Paint ("Scarlet O'Hara" #5-16): Pratt & Lambert Paints, 800/289-7728, prattandlambert.com.

  • The Sidecar, price available upon request from Moore & Giles [1-800-737-0169]

    This beautifully crafted bar cart, The Sidecar by Moore and Giles, is a great way to store liquor, glassware, bar tools, and anything else needed to complete your own miniature bar. The cart, made of Virginia black walnut, birch, leather, aluminum, and brass, is wheeled to make sure the party can travel with you. Perfect for drink-lovers without the space for a full bar.