Welcoming Wreath

A gorgeous wreath on the front door welcomes holiday visitors.

Entry

Garlands of greens dotted with silver foliage trail the stair railings. An antique chair was upholstered with “Versailles” fabric from Rose Tarlow-Melrose House. A Turkish Oushak rug covers the white oak floors.

Chair: antique. Fabric (“Versailles”/Azure #2026-02): Rose Tarlow-Melrose House, rosetarlow.com. Area rug (Turkish Oushak): Renaissance Collection, rencollection.com. Lantern: owner’s collection. Paint (old style gypsum plaster): Segreto Finishes, segretofinishes.com. Base color (“Clay Beige” #OC-11): Benjamin Moore & Co., benjaminmoore.com. Doors (custom): Shortell Design, shortelldesign.com.

Living Room

Wide arched openings connect the foyer, front stair hall, and living room in the Texas house. Plaster walls and ceilings and distressed beams and doors give the house a European feel. The room maintains a sense of elegance without being overly formal.

Wall paint (old style gypsum plaster): Segreto Finishes, segretofinishes.com. Base color (“Clay Beige” #OC-11); trim (“Grand Teton White” #AC-42): Benjamin Moore & Co., benjaminmoore.com. Sofas (“Belgian Roll-Arm Slipcovered Sofa”); slipcover (sand colorway): RH, rh.com. Ottoman (custom): Meredith McBrearty, meredithmcbrearty.com. Ottoman fabric: Duralee, duralee.com. Area rug (“Bowdon”/Antelope, discontinued): Truett Fine Carpets & Rugs, truettcarpetsandrugs.com. Chairs in front of mantel (from Sweden): antique. Chair-front fabric (“Delphina II”/Lady’s Slipper #910045-05): Rogers & Goffigon, 203/532-8068. Pillows on chairs: The Mews Antiques, mewsantiques.com. Lounge chairs (“March Lounge Chair” #7625-21): Hickory Chair, hickorychair.com. Chair fabric (“Paloma”/Sweet Pea #1002-02): Kerry Joyce Textiles, kerryjoycetextiles.com. Stockings (custom): Meredith McBrearty, meredithmcbrearty.com. Stocking fabric (“Gustav”/Beige #5588, by Rose Cumming): Dessin Fournir, dessinfournir.com. Stocking trims: Samuel & Sons, samuelandsons.com. Throw on chair: Mecox Gardens, mecoxgardens.com. Basket in fireplace (rattan): Wisteria, wisteria.com. Clock (from Sweden): antique. Urns on mantel; candlesticks: The Mews Antiques, mewsantiques.com. Mirror at back on mantel: owner’s collection. Mirror at front on mantel: Eclectic Architecturals, earchitecturals.com

Kid-Friendly Ottoman

The custom tufted ottoman in a gorgeous chocolate-brown invites kids to run and jump on it.

Hung by the Chimney with Care

Two antique bergère chairs from Sweden cozy up to the fireplace hung with custom-made stockings.

Blue and Cream Palette

Flowers and natural greens complete the Scandivaian blue-and-cream palette. The embroidered stockings were custom made with trimmings from Samuel & Sons in dusty blue velvet.

Waiting

Anniken McNeil, named for her Norwegian grandmother, Anniken Lien, awaits the arrival of Santa on Christmas Eve.

Tree Details

The ornaments on the tree speak to the style of the McNeil home – a mix of simple, sophisticated ornaments with fun, colorful glass balls

Dining Room

Antique chairs and an 8-foot hutch were shipped from Scandinavia and were stripped and whitewashed. Sheer drapes by the doors to the loggia soften the space but keep it casual.

Another view is on the following slide.

Chandelier (“Swedish Chandelier” #2098): Paul Ferrante, paulferrante.com. Dining table (antique, original washed long farm table): Wisteria, wisteria.com. Hutch (from Sweden); dining chairs (from Sweden): antique. Chair-seat fabric (“Little Compton”/Cove #805001-05): Rogers & Goffigon, 203/532-8068. Drapery: discontinued. Art: antique botanicals. Wall paint (old style gypsum plaster): Segreto Finishes, segretofinishes.com. Trim (“Grand Teton White” #AC-42): Benjamin Moore & Co., benjaminmoore.com.

Graceful Table

The antique dining table is from Wisteria, and the reproduction chandelier is from Paul Ferrante.

Cookies for Santa

Festive baked goods displayed on white cake plates are in theme with the Scandinavian palette.

Loggia

The McNeils post Norwegian barn gnomes on the hearth during the holidays. The stone archways are fitted with motorized screens that allow the family to use the loggia nearly year round. Sofa and chairs are from RH and coffee table and drum table from Wisteria. Indoor-outdoor rug from Dash & Albert.

Sofa and chairs (“Provence”); fabric (in sand colorway): RH, rh.com. Coffee table (“Parquet-Top Coffee Table”); side table; garden stool: Wisteria, wisteria.com. Area rug (“Diamond Khaki White Indoor/Outdoor Rug”): Dash & Albert, dashandalbert.com. Throw pillows (“Suzani Embroidered Pillow Cover”): Pottery Barn, potterybarn.com.

 Kitchen

To give the new home an aged look, walls were plastered and cabinets distressed and glazed. Countertops are made with 3-inch thick limestone tiles salvaged from a French estate. The range hood is plaster. Barstools upholstered in wipeable vinyl are wonderful for a family with small children.

Cabinetry: Texas Woodmill Cabinets, woodmillcabinets.com. Cabinet paint (custom glazed finish): Segreto Finishes, segretofinishes.com. Cabinetry hardware (in Patinated Iron finish): Whitechapel Ltd., whitechapel-ltd.com. Backsplash tile (19th-century colored cement tile); countertops (18th-century Bars Blonde, from France): Chateau Domingue, chateaudomingue.com. Range: Viking, vikingrange.com. Plate rack (from Sweden): antique. Chandelier (“Gothic Chandelier” #DL-CD06): Dennis & Leen, dennisandleen.com. Window treatment (“Lawrence”/Robin’s Egg #1132, by Classic Cloth): Dessin Fournir, dessinfournir.com. Bar stools: custom. Bar-stool fabric, front (“Finesse”/Mushroom #3905-05): Brentano, brentanofabrics.com. Bar-stool fabric, back (“Dreamcoat”/Pharoah #910061-04): Rogers & Goffigon, 203/532-8068. Refrigerator (by Sub-Zero); range (by Wolf): Sub-Zero/Wolf, subzero-wolf.com. Oven hood (custom design): Meredith McBrearty, meredithmcbrearty.com. Fabrication: Vent-A-Hood, ventahood.com. Wall paint (old style gypsum plaster): Segreto Finishes, segretofinishes.com. Base color (“Clay Beige” #OC-11); trim (“Grand Teton White” #AC-42): Benjamin Moore & Co., benjaminmoore.com. Faucet (“Fairfield Bridge Faucet” #9451-1): Newport Brass, newportbrass.com. Dishwasher: KitchenAid, kitchenaid.com.

Pretty Backsplash

The range backsplash is 19th-century colored cement tiles imported from Europe by Chateau Domingue, a Houston, Texas, business.

Farmhouse Sink

The farmhouse sink and Newport Brassbridge-style faucet complement the antique features of the kitchen.

Plate Rack

A hand-crafted Norwegian plate rack adds vintage charm, hanging above a wood picnic box from Norway that dates to the 1850s.

Serene Master Bedroom

A soft, gray-blue secretary from Sweden was one of Ellisiv’s father’s Scandinavian finds, and McBrearty built the room’s color scheme around it. The blue headboard fabric is from Michael S Smith and the antique Swedish desk chair is upholstered in Duralee’s “Chinchilla.”

Wall paint (old style gypsum plaster): Segreto Finishes, segretofinishes.com. Area rug (Khotan): Matt Camron Rugs, mattcamron.com. Secretary (from Sweden); chair at secretary (from Sweden): antique. Chair fabric (#36124-452, color, Aloe): Duralee, duralee.com. Bedside table, left of bed (French side table): Crown and Colony Antiques, crownandcolony.com. Bedside table, right of bed: Wisteria, wisteria.com. Table lamps (“Modern Balustrade Round Table Lamp” #CHA8917): Circa Lighting, circalighting.com. Chandelier (Swedish): Crown and Colony Antiques, crownandcolony.com. Chair by bed (from Sweden): antique. Chair fabric (“Versailles”/Azure #2026-02): Rose Tarlow-Melrose House, rosetarlow.com. Drapery (“Floralina Mist” #28655-15): Kravet, kravet.com. Sunburst mirror over bed (“Gilded Sunburst Mirror” c.1900): Crown and Colony Antiques, crownandcolony.com. Headboard: custom. Headboard fabric (“Calais”/Blue #JW3501, by Jasper): Michael S Smith Inc., michaelsmithinc.com. Bed-skirt fabric (“Versailles”/Azure #2026-02): Rose Tarlow-Melrose House, rosetarlow.com. Bedding (Italian Hotel Satin Stitch Collection): RH, rh.com. Pillow shams (“Monferato”): Groves Bros., grovesbros.com. Throw: Mecox Gardens, mecoxgardens.com.  

Classic Master Bath

Twin vanities are tucked in arched niches. Cabinets were given a distressed finish and topped with marble.

Wall paint (old style gypsum plaster): Segreto Finishes, segretofinishes.com. Base color (“Silverpointe” #SW-7653): Sherwin-Williams, sherwin-williams.com. Vanity Texas Woodmill Cabinets, woodmillcabinets.com. Countertop (marble slab): Chateau Domingue, chateaudomingue.com. Sink (“Caxton Undermount Sink”/White): Kohler, kohler.com. Faucet (“Chesterfield Widespread Lav. Faucet,” 930 series): Newport Brass, newportbrass.com. Mirror (custom): Meredith McBrearty, meredithmcbrearty.com. Sconces (“Diamond Sconce” #42-9907): David Iatesta, davidiatesta.com.

Soaking Tub

A Waterworks bathtub is similar in style to those popular in England and France in the early 19th century.

Tub (“Empire Freestanding Rectangular Bathtub” #EMBT01): Waterworks, waterworks.com. Faucets (“Chesterfield”): Newport Brass, newportbrass.com. Chair by tub (from Sweden): antique. Chair fabric (#36124-452, color, Aloe): Duralee, duralee.com. Window treatment (“Lisette”/Natural #2004-01): Rose Tarlow-Melrose House, rosetarlow.com.

McNeil Family

Ellisiv and Chad McNeil with daughters Emma, 9, Isabella, 5, and Anniken, 3.

White Christmas

See a lovely Virginia home decorated for the holidays.

You are here

Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home

From the Editors of Traditional Home
Slide 1 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 2 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 3 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 4 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 5 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 6 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 7 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 8 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 9 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 10 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 11 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 12 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 13 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 14 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 15 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 16 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 17 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 18 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 19 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 20 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 21 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home
Slide 22 Of Scandinavian-Style Christmas: Pretty Texas Home

Waiting

Anniken McNeil, named for her Norwegian grandmother, Anniken Lien, awaits the arrival of Santa on Christmas Eve.