You are here

New Home, Classic Design and Details

Fewer but larger rooms and artisanal details allow a couple to downsize with ease. 

Written by Amy Elbert
  • Gordon Beall

    Paint colors (custom); letter box: Mark Hickman Homes, 630/654-3133, hickmanhomesinc.com.
    Landscape design; bluestone walk: Jane Dilworth & Assoc., 630/515-1230, janedilworth.com.
    Sconce: Tower Lighting, 708/246-9429, towerltg.com.

  • Gordon Beall

    Sofa (#836-88); upholstered chairs (#836-38); nesting tables (#7862, by Thomas Pheasant): Baker, 800/592-2537, bakerfurniture.com.
    Sofa fabric ("Manhattan"/Teck" #04458/88, discontinued): Cowtan & Tout, 212/647-6900, cowtan.com. Chair fabric ("Bradford Chenille Stripe"/Cognac #89694-829, discontinued): Brunschwig & Fils, 800/538-1880, brunschwig.com.
    Rug (antique); fireplace fender (antique); mantel: owner's collection.
    Coffee table ("Kowloon" #CT140): Murray's Iron Works, 312/595-0874, murraysiw.com. Ottomans ("Susan Bench" #H0087): Henredon, 800/444-3682, henredon.com. Ottoman fabric ("Honeycomb"/Cocoa #34008-1, discontinued): Clarence House Inc., 800/803-2850, clarencehouse.com.
    Side table ("Aperitif Bar Cart" #9746-10): Hickory Chair, 800/349-4579, hickorychair.com.
    Floor lamps: Pottery Barn, 800/922-5507, potterybarn.com.
    Shades ("Java" #1506, Conrad Original Sunshades): Conrad, 866/426-6723, conradshades.com.
    Built-in cabinetry (custom): Mark Hickman Homes, 630/654-3133, hickmanhomesinc.com.
    Wall and ceiling paint ("Putnam Ivory" #HC-39); trim paint ("Linen White"): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com.
    Pillows on sofa and chairs (custom):Robert Allen, 800/333-3777, robertallendesign. com.

  • Gordon Beall

    Upholostered wing chair ("Bentley" #LA5027-03L); chair fabric (#4664-30): Lillian August, 203/847-1596, lillianaugust.com.
    Pillow on chair: Bedside Manor Ltd., 800/485-4744, bedsidemanorltd.com.
    Floor lamp: David Easton Inc., 212/334-3820, davideastoninc.com.
    Desk: Williams-Sonoma Home, 888/922-4108, wshome.com.
    Desk chair: Ethan Allen, 888/324-3571, ethanallen.com.
    Desk-chair fabric ("Bengal Tiger Velvet," discontinued): Ralph Lauren Home, 888/475-7674, ralphlaurenhome.com.
    Rug (sisal): Pottery Barn, 800/922-5507, pottery barn.com.

  • Gordon Beall

    Table ("Split Pedestal Table" #6078); sideboard (#3057): Bausman & Co., 909/947-0139, bausman.net.
    Upholstered chairs ("Marlboro" #6172-11); chair fabric ("Railroad" #2512-23): Hickory Chair, 800/349-4579, hickorychair.com.
    Light fixture ("Scudo Saraceno"): Fortuny Inc., through Nicholas P. Karas, 312/467-6274, fortuny.com.
    Mirror: La Barge Inc., labargeinc.com.
    Paint: custom.
    Wood floor: hickory, custom finish.
    Glass vases on sideboard; glass vase on table: owner's collection.

  • Gordon Beall

    Cabinetry (custom): Roeckers Inc., 309/693-2929, roeckercabinets.com.
    Flooring (hickory); island countertop; nickel-plated shelves on range wall; spice shelves (hand-forged metal); cabinetry hardware (custom): Mark Hickman Homes, 630/654-3133, hickmanhomesinc.com.
    Stone for backsplash and perimeter countertop (limestone): Terrazzo & Marble Supply, 847/353-8000, tmsupply.com.
    Range: Viking, 888/845-4641, vikingrange.com.
    Hood (custom): Broan, 800/558-1711, broan.com.
    Main sink (#PSX1103012/16, discontinued); island sink (#CPX110); island faucet (#TFB-300, discontinued): Franke Kitchen Systems Division, 800/626-5771, frankeksd.com.
    Faucet for main sink ("Bridge Faucet" #U.4791L/Brushed Nickel, by Perrin & Rowe): Rohl, 800/777-9762, rohlhome.com.
    Light fixtures (from Italy): Tower Lighting, 708/246-9429, towerltg.com.
    Upholstered stools ("Shaker Arch Backlesss Swivel Counterstool," 26-inches #C305): Charleston Forge, 828/264-0100, charlestonforge.com.
    Refrigerator; refrigerator drawers: Sub-Zero Inc., 800/222-7820, subzero.com.
    Pot filler: Chicago Faucets, 847/803-5000, chicagofaucets.com.
    Paint ("Putnam Ivory" #HC-39): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com.

  • Gordon Beall

    Windows: Weather Shield Windows & Doors, 800/222-2995, weathershield.com.
    Pillows on bench: Bedside Manor Ltd., 800/485-4744, bedsidemanorltd.com.
    Table ("Trestle Draw Top Dining Table" #190000DT, Chateau Collection); chairs ("Montecito Side Chair" #14500): Fremarc Designs, 626/965-0802, fremarc.com. Chair fabric ("Samarkand"/Golden Coin #19559-4, discontinued); chair-seat leather ("Bison" #616): Kravet, 888/457-2838, kravet.com.
    Chandelier ("Elon Chandelier" #87674.36): 2nd Ave. Lighting, 800/843-1602, 2ndave.com.
    Bench paint: custom.
    Shades ("Java" #1506, Conrad Original Sunshades): Conrad, 866/426-6723, conradshades.com.

  • Gordon Beall

    Table; cabinet: owner's collection.
    Chairs ("Palmetto"): Pottery Barn, 800/922-5507, potterybarn.com.
    Flower vase/candle holder: Z Gallerie, 800/358-8288, zgallerie.com.
    Bluestone: Jane Dilworth & Assoc., 630/515-1230, janedilworth.com.

  • Gordon Beall

    Long wicker bench (antique); lamp (antique); plant stand: owner's collection.
    Wicker wing chairs (furniture line varies): Pottery Barn, 800/922-5507, potterybarn.com.
    Green chairs ("Sienna Armchairs," discontinued): Grange Furniture, 312/527-1919. Pillows (selection varies); sisal rug: Pottery Barn, 800/922-5507, potterybarn.com. Trim paint: custom.

  • Gordon Beall
  • The Sidecar, price available upon request from Moore & Giles [1-800-737-0169]

    This beautifully crafted bar cart, The Sidecar by Moore and Giles, is a great way to store liquor, glassware, bar tools, and anything else needed to complete your own miniature bar. The cart, made of Virginia black walnut, birch, leather, aluminum, and brass, is wheeled to make sure the party can travel with you. Perfect for drink-lovers without the space for a full bar.