You are here

Neutral Palette: Exuberant Holidays

If you want attention, whisper. A Michigan home does just that.

Written by Krissa Rossbund
  • John Bessler
  • John Bessler

    Rug ("Fine Angora Oushak Rug"#43-004-147): Mastour Galleries, 877/627-8687, mastourgalleries.com
    Ottoman ("Tangier Ottoman" #7A-414): Stewart Furniture Designs, 276/744-0185, stewartfurniture.com
    Ottoman fabric ("Lounge Lizard" #JHT49-162, limited stock): John Hutton Textiles, 888/787-7827, johnhutton.com
    Sofas ("Annie Sofa"); sofa fabric, pillows and trim ("Casual Linen"/Sand): Verellen Home Collection, 336/889-7379.
    Zebra bench ("Hadley"): Oly, 775/336-2100, olystudio.com
    Silver tray on ottoman ("Bordeau Large Polished Nickel Tray" #2503): Arteriors Home, 877/488-8866, arteriorshome.com
    Mercury glass accesories: DK Living/Barreveld, 845/265-6080, barreveld.com Chandelier ("Aix-En-Provence Chandelier"): La Forge Francaise, 631/591-0572, laforgefrancaise.com
    Mirror over fireplace ("Cast Iron Window Mirror"): Bobo Intriguing Objects, 404/355-2309, bobointriguingobjects.com
    Drapery ("Martinique"/Dark Beige #3322-03): Gretchen Bellinger Inc., 518/445-2400, gretchenbellinger.com 
    Fireplace: custom.
    Wall covering: Venetian plaster. Trim paint ("Super White"): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com
    Windows: Thomas Sebold & Assoc., 248/642-7711, tsagc.com

  • John Bessler

    Chest of drawers: Whitehall Antiques, 919/942-3179, whitehallantiques.com Mirror (discontinued): Swaim, 336/885-6131, swaim-inc.com
    Triangle lanterns ("Triangular Chandelier" #CH-I/510): Festoni, 713/830-1077, festoni.com
    Painting (by Catharine Warren); console table under painting: owner's collection.
    Lamps on console ("Antique Wallpaper Lamps"): Julian Chichester, 336/886-2454, julianchichester.com
    Lampshades: Lux Lampshades, 704/376-6213, luxlampshades.com

  • John Bessler
  • John Bessler

    Light over front door (#4192-2): Fourteenth Colony Lighting, 800/297-9719, fourteenthcolonylighting.com
    Front door: custom.

  • John Granen

    Drapery (custom, silk): Jones Keena and Co., 248/644-7515, jones-keena.com
    Dining table ("Palafoxiana Rectangular Dining Table" #528-865-02): Alfonso Marina, 888/489-3839, alfonsomarinaebanista.com
    Host chairs ("Flare Back Dining Arm Chair"/Weathered Cream #7651-10, by Mariette Himes Gomez); side chairs ("Flare Back Dining Side Chair"/Weathered Cream #7652-10, by Mariette Himes Gomez): Hickory Chair, 800/349-4579, hickorychair.com
    Chair fabric (#5032-1): Swaim Inc., 336/885-6131, swaim-inc.com
    Chandeliers ("10-light Galleria Chandelier"/Renaissance Silver): Eicher Collection by Woodland Furniture, 310/657-4630, woodlandfurniture.com
    Fireplace tile (custom): Pewabic Pottery, 313/626-2000, pewabic.org
    China ("Old Avesbury" by Royal Crown Derby); stemware: owner's collection.
    Sconces ("Aura Sconce," by James Lockridge): through Allan Knight & Assoc., 214/741-2227, allan-knight.com
    Rug (custom patchwork rug): Asia Minor Carpets, 212/447-9066, asiaminorcarpets.com
    Mirror over fireplace ("Starburst"): Cody Foster & Co., 402/376-3369, codyfosterandco.com
    Wall covering: Venetian plaster.
    Trim paint ("Super White"): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com
    Ceiling wallpaper ("Erte Silver Tea Paper" #BR-69264-904): Brunschwig & Fils, 800/538-1880, brunschwig.com
    Placemats: owner's collection.
    Candlesticks ("Frida Taper Candle Holders"): Roost, 415/339-9500, roostco.com
    Napkins; flatware: owner's collection.

  • John Bessler

    Chairs (“Damien Occasional Chair”); chair fabric (“Suede”/Champagne): Verellen Home Collection, 336/889-7379.
    Pillows (carpet pillows): Chelsea Textiles Ltd., 212/319-5804, chelseatextiles.com
    Ottoman (“Damien Ottoman,” with nailhead): Verellen Home Collection, 336/889-7379.
    Ottoman fabric (#CHSDAG2/Olive Green Hide): Saddleman’s of Santa Fe, 505/424-7909, saddlemansofsantafe.com
    Drapery (“Prestwick Wool Satin”/Espresso #51530, with band in “Prestwick Wool Satin”/Paprika #51538): Schumacher, 800/523-1200, fschumacher.com
    Leaded doors: Merry Go Round Stained Glass Inc., 248/652-7560, mgrstainedglass.net
    Small table next to chair (“Tribeca Tiered Side Table”/Faux Shagreen): Julian Chichester, 336/886-2454, julianchichester.com
    Rug (Heriz #33876): Asia Minor Carpets, 212/447-9066.
    Mantel: custom.
    Fireplace tiles: Pewabic Pottery: 313/626-2000, pewabic.org

  • John Bessler

    Sofa ("Thibaut"): Verellen Home Collection, 336/889-7379.
    Sofa fabric ("Legacy"/Cashmere #5055-07): Pollack, 212/627-7766, pollackassociates.com
    Sofa pillows ("Somba"/Slate #34194-4): Clarence House, 800/803-2850, clarencehouse.com
    Upholstered chairs ("Hayward Club Chair" #2003-51, discontinued): Hickory Chair, 800/349-4579, hickorychair.com
    Chair fabric ("Legacy"/Cashmere #5055-07): Pollack, 212/627-7766, pollackassociates.com
    Chair pillows ("Consolation," discontinued): Jim Thompson, 800/262-0336, jimthompsonfabrics.com
    Coffee table (custom): Jones Keena & Co., 248/644-7515.
    Chandelier ("Cabot Lodge Chandelier" #68011): Chelsea House, 252/446-3266, chelseahouseinc.com 
    Wallpaper ("Holland Texture on Vinyl"/Greige #69379-908, discontinued): Brunschwig & Fils, 800/538-1880.
    Rug (antique): Asia Minor Carpets, 212/447-9066.

  • John Bessler

    Bed; bedside chest: owner's collection.
    Quilted bed cover and pillow shams; duvet: Ann Gish, 212/969-9200.
    Rug ("Fine Angora Oushak Rug #10267-33): Mastour Galleries, 877/627-8687.
    Drapery (#1228-5965): Opuzen, 323/549-3489, opuzen.com
    Wall covering (Venetian plaster, "Armonia"): custom.
    Trim paint ("Super White" ): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667.
    Mantel (custom): Thomas Sebold & Assoc., 248/642-7711, tsagc.com
    Sconces above mantel ("Brantome Wall Light" #WLA55/N): Vaughan Designs, 212/319-7070, vaughandesigns.com
    Fireplace surround: onyx.
    Chandelier ("Treetop Chandelier" #9327): Currey & Co., 877/768-6428, curreycodealers.com

  • John Bessler

    Pair of chairs ("Thompson Side Chair" #2005-21, by Thomas O'Brien); fabric (#3087-64): Hickory Chair, 800/349-4579, hickorychair.com
    Metallic pillow on chair: Jones-Keena & Co. Shop, 248/644-7515.
    Table between chairs ("Log Stool"/silver finish #PH55914): Phillips Collection, 877/744-5547.
    Drapery (#1228-5965): Opuzen, 323/549-3489, opuzen.com
    Wall covering (Venetian plaster, "Armonia"): custom.
    Trim paint ("Super White" ): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667.

  • John Bessler

    Chandeliers ("Bling Chandelier"/Polished Nickel #S1000): Robert Abbey Inc., 828/322-3480, robertabbey.biz
    Wallpaper ("Silver Screen"/Platinum #W3004-11, discontinued): Kravet, 888/457-2838, kravet.com
    Tub: Andean Stone, 305/460-3320, andeanstonecompany.com
    Tub fixtures; vanity faucet ("Waldorf Widespread"): Sigma, 760/598-5895, sigmafaucet.com
    Sconces ("Dean Single Arm Sconce" #AH2000, by Alexa Hampton): Circa Lighting, 877/762-2323, circalighting.com
    Tile in tub area; flooring: custom.
    Shades ("Bouillion"/Oyster #7725): Pindler & Pindler, 805/531-9090, pindler.com
    Trim ("Whitfield Braid"/Oyster #63161): Schumacher, 800/523-1200, fschumacher.com

  • John Bessler

    Cabinetry: Braam's Custom Cabinets, 877/663-2537, braams.ca
    Wallpaper ("Silver Screen"/Platinum #W3004-11, discontinued): Kravet, 888/457-2838, kravet.com
    Bench fabric ("Argentum Weave"/Silver #LFY 60074F): Ralph Lauren Home, 888/475-7674, ralphlaurenhome.com

  • John Bessler
  • John Bessler
  • John Bessler
  • John Bessler
  • The Sidecar, price available upon request from Moore & Giles [1-800-737-0169]

    This beautifully crafted bar cart, The Sidecar by Moore and Giles, is a great way to store liquor, glassware, bar tools, and anything else needed to complete your own miniature bar. The cart, made of Virginia black walnut, birch, leather, aluminum, and brass, is wheeled to make sure the party can travel with you. Perfect for drink-lovers without the space for a full bar.