You are here

Lovely Mountain Summer Home with Terrific Color

Pretty but comfortable interiors grace this North Carolina summer home

Written by Amy Elbert
  • Emily Followill
  • Emily Followill

    Sofa (“Oxford Sofa” #HO504C, discontinued): Henredon, 800/444-3682, henredon.com
    Club chairs (#8934-02, discontinued): Charles Stewart Co., 828/322-9464, charlesstewartcompany.com
    Sofa fabric (“Oliveriza Woven”/Oro #GDT1616.008): Brunschwig & Fils, 800/538-1880, brunschwig.com
    Club-chair fabric (“Katmandu”/Brick #W104-5): Carleton V Ltd., 212/355-4525, carletonvltd.com
    Red pillow on sofa (#F5071/04 by Designers Guild, discontinued): Osborne & Little, 212/751-3333, osborne-andlittle.com
    Plaid pillow (“Modular”/Sienna, discontinued): Carleton House Fabrics, 800/422-1540, carletonhousefabrics.com 
    Rectangular pillow (“High Life”/Bloody Mary #9506): Calvin Fabrics, 888/732-1996, calvinfabrics.com
    Pillow on club chair: discontinued.
    Cloverleaf end table (#2106-C-27): Holland & Co., 800/446-5526, hollandand-company.com
    Coffee table: owner’s collection.
    Bench (#1090-42): Charles Stewart Co., 828/322-9464, charlesstewartcompany.com
    Bench fabric (“Modular”/Sienna): Carleton House Fabrics, 800/422-1540, carletonhousefabrics.com
    Square end table: MacRae, 800/446-5526, macraedesigns.com
    Table lamps (“Cylinder Base Ribbed Red” #L-307826): Holland & Co., 800/446-5526, hollandandcompany.com
    Drapery (discontinued): Lee Jofa, 800/453-3563, leejofa.com
    Drapery trim (“Cute As a Button Tasseled Tape”/Topaz #BR-39028.335, discontinued): Brunschwig & Fils, 800/538-1880, brunschwig.com
    Center painting by window (by Harry Stewart): Stellers Gallery, 800/642-5716, stellersgallery.com 
    Two smaller paintings (by Dawne Raulet): Huff Harrington Fine Art, 404/257-0511, huff-harrington.com

  • Emily Followill

    One of Nancy’s oil paintings hangs above the stone fireplace. Leather wing chairs are from Holland & Company.

    Wall paint (“Delaware Putty” #240); ceiling and trim paint (“Swiss Coffee” #OC-45): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com
    Art over fireplace (Someday, by Nancy Race): Nancy Race, nancyraceart.com
    Leather chairs (discontinued): Holland & Co., 800/446-5526.
    Entertainment cabinet (custom): Krogh Cabinetry, 770/475-6523, kroghcabinetry.com
    Area rug: Myers Carpet, 404/352-8141. 

  • Emily Followill

    A rustic ladder propped next to the fireplace displays throws.

  • Emily Followill

    The pumpkin-colored antique table (originally used for shucking oysters) complements the green-gold wood wall. The mirror is made from an old window.

    Wall paint (“Delaware Putty” #240); ceiling and trim paint (“Swiss Coffee” #OC-45): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com
    Table (“Oyster Table”): The Inn Store, Boar’s Head Inn, 434/972-2254.
    Mirror (#MN1338): The Nicholson Gallery, 404/848-9553, thenicholsongallery.com 
    Lamps (“Square Glass Lamp with Shade”/Medium #SMBCSQUAREM): South of Market, 877/834-1118, southofmarket.biz 
    Area rug: owner’s collection.
    Chandelier: Masterpiece Lighting, 404/355-6803.

  • Emily Followill

    The dining room’s French doors and windows are draped with a Lee Jofa linen in an ikat design. The dining table is a French antique and seats up to 12 people when the leaves are extended.

    Table (antique): Acorns Boutique at Old Edwards Inn, 828/787-1877.
    Side chairs: owner’s collection.
    Host chairs (#7390-50): Charles Stewart Co., 828/322-9464, charlesstewartcompany.com
    Chair-seat fabric (“Liso Masai Woven”/Oro #83352, discontinued): Brunschwig & Fils, 800/538-1880, brunschwig.com
    Chair-back fabric (“High Life”/Bloody Mary #9506): Calvin Fabrics, 888/732-1996, calvinfabrics.com
    Buffetlamps on buffet (antique spice containers); vine sculpture: owner’s collection.
    Drapery: Lee Jofa, 800/453-3563, leejofa.com
    Bar stools: MacRae, 800/446-5526, macraedesigns.com

  • Emily Followill

    Antique tin containers used to dispense spices were converted into lamps that flank a sculpture on an 18th-century French buffet in the dining room.

    Buffetlamps on buffet (antique spice containers); vine sculpture: owner’s collection.

  • Emily Followill

    Cabinetry: Krogh Cabinetry, 770/475-6523, kroghcabinetry.com
    Cabinetry hardware: Rocky Mountain Hardware, 888/788-2013, rockymountainhardware.com
    Backsplash: Renaissance Tile & Bath, 404/231-9203, renaissancetileandbath.com
    Countertops: antiqued granite.
    Range (by Wolf); refrigerator (by Sub-Zero): Sub-Zero/Wolf, 800/222-7820, subzero-wolf.com
    Sink: Kohler, 800/456-4537, kohler.com
    Faucet: Rohl, 800/777-9762, rohlhome.com
    Pendant lights (“Glass Light on Rope” #SM5509 A/B, discontinued): South of Market, 877/834-1118, southofmarket.biz.
    Bar stools: MacRae, 800/446-5526, macraedesigns.com
    Roman shade (“Bolivar Check”/Brick, Brown #1501-5): Jane Shelton, 800/530-7259, janeshelton.com
    Tape trim on shade (grosgrain ribbon, 11/2 inch, #1068543): Hancock Fabrics, hancockfabrics.com
    Bobble trim on shade (discontinued): Scalamandré, 800/932-4361, scalamandre.com

  • Emily Followill

    Cabinet doors with wire fronts were backed with shirred fabric for a French country style in the butler’s pantry. “Nancy is a Francophile,” says Price.

    Countertop (wooden with leather faux finish: custom.
    Sink: Blanco America, 888/668-6201, blancoamerica.com
    Faucet: Rohl, 800/777-9762, rohlhome.com
    Area rug: owner’s collection.
    Fabric in cabinet door (“Bolivar Check”/Brick, Brown #1501-5): Jane Shelton, 800/530-7259, janeshelton.com
    Cabinetry: Krogh Cabinetry, 770/475-6523, kroghcabinetry.com
    Cabinetry finish: walnut.
    Cabinetry hardware: Rocky Mountain Hardware, 888/788-2013, rockymountainhardware.com

  • Emily Followill

    Bed (“Gabrielle Canopy Bed”/Chamois #1040): The Farmhouse Collection, 208/736-8700, farmhousecollection.com
    Green shams (“Lamak”/Curry #131N45): Raoul Textiles, 805/965-1694, raoultextiles.com
    Pillow with circles (discontinued): Kravet, 888/457-2838, kravet.com
    Bed drapery (“Provence”/Kiwi, White #2048/02): Rose Tarlow-Melrose House, 323/651-2202, rosetarlow.com
    Drapery (“Lamak”/Curry #131N45): Raoul Textiles, 805/965-1694, raoultextiles.com
    Drapery rod (#2030 1-inch rod); drapery finial (“Miro Finial” #544): S&L Designs, 214/742-6417, s-ldesigns.com
    Area rug: Fabrica, fabrica.com
    Wall paint (“Lemon Twist” #394); ceiling and trim paint (“Swiss Coffee” #OC-45): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com

  • Emily Followill

    Bed drapery (“Provence”/Kiwi, White #2048/02): Rose Tarlow-Melrose House, 323/651-2202, rosetarlow.com
    Drapery (“Lamak”/Curry #131N45): Raoul Textiles, 805/965-1694, raoultextiles.com
    Drapery rod (#2030 1-inch rod); drapery finial (“Miro Finial” #544): S&L Designs, 214/742-6417, s-ldesigns.com

  • Emily Followill

    Lounge chairs (“Revival Chair” #9759): Henredon, 800/444-3682, henredon.com 
    Lounge-chair fabric (“Cosmopolitan Chenille Texture”/Celery #BR-89674.404): Brunschwig & Fils, 800/538-1880, brunschwig.com
    Dresser: antique.

  • Emily Followill

    Ottoman (#3050-33): Charles Stewart Co., 828/322-9464, charlesstewartcompany.com
    Ottoman fabric (discontinued): Kravet, 888/457-2838, kravet.com

  • Emily Followill

    Wall paint (“Delaware Putty” #240); ceiling paint (“Swiss Coffee” #OC-45): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com
    Blinds: Graber, graberblinds.com Shades (“Marchesa Stripe”/Pistachio, Sand #10879-04): Cowtan & Tout, 212/647-6900, cowtan.com
    Trim (“Olivia Tassel Fringe”/Cactus #TL10046.0316, colorway discontinued): Lee Jofa, 800/453-3563, leejofa.com
    Hanging pendant: Masterpiece Lighting, 404/355-6803, masterpiecelighting.com
    Tub: Kohler, 800/456-4537, kohler.com
    Faucets: Rohl, 800/777-9762, rohlhome.com

  • Emily Followill
  • Emily Followill
  • Emily Followill
  • Emily Followill

    Wicker occasional chairs (#MB-7156): Mainly Baskets, 877/702-5654, mainlybaskets.com
    Coffee table: Scott’s Antique Market, 404/361-2000.

Comments

Loading comments...