You are here

For Love of a House

Funky charm abounds in a chic but cozy Brooklyn brownstone

Written by Eliza Alsop
  • prev
  • Next
  • 8 of 8
  • Jonny Valiant

    Armchairs (vintage 1960s, Corbusier); pillows on armchairs; sofa (Chippendale reproduction): owner's collection.
    Sofa fabric: Brunschwig & Fils, 800/538-1880, brunschwig.com.
    Drapery ("Mantadia"): Anthropologie, 800/309-2500, anthropologie.com.
    Apple and pear prints on wall (by Enzo Mari): Nova 68 Modern Design, 800/420-4137, nova68.com.
    Hanging pendant light: The Conran Shop, 866/755-9079, conranusa.com.
    Bookcase (custom, for vinyl record albums): Furniture Design by Knossos, 718/729-0404.
    Lamps on bookcase: Abingdon 12, 212/206-6845. abingdon12.com.
    Floor lamp: West Elm, 866/428-6468, westelm.com.
    Wall paint ("Floral White" #OC-29); trim and door paint ("Horizon" #OC-53): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com.
    Ceiling ("Best White," custom color): Isogon Interum LLC, 718/369-9587.
    Ceiling rosette: Felber Ornamental Plastering Corp., 800/392-6896, felber.net.
    Flooring: original to house.

  • Jonny Valiant

    Table ("Strut Table"/Dark Olive): Blu Dot, 612/782-1844, bludot.com.
    Chairs ("Salt Chairs" #12592): Design Within Reach, 866/377-0825, dwr.com.
    Light fixture over table (from EBay); area rug (family heirloom); mirror (tag sale); mantel (original to house): owner's collection.
    Wall paint ("Floral White" #OC-29); trim and door paint ("Horizon" #OC-53): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com.
    Ceiling ("Best White," custom color): Isogon Interum LLC, 718/369-9587.

  • Jonny Valiant

    Cabinetry (custom): Isogon Interum LLC, 718/369-9587.
    Cabinetry finish ("Van Deusen Blue" #HC-156): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com.
    Hardware (Flush Ring Pull with Solid Center): Baldwin, 800/566-1986, baldwinhardware.com. Through Simon's New York, 212/532-9220, simonsny.com. Stove: Bosch, 800/866-2022, boschappliances.com.
    Sink: Shaw's Original Collection by Rohl, 800/777-9762, rohlhome.com.
    Refrigerator: Jenn-Air, 800/536-6247, jennair.com.
    Pottery (styled after vintage Bauer): Bauer Pottery, 888/213-0800, bauerpottery.com

  • Jonny Valiant

    Wallpaper facing desk ("Orchid" #66/4030, Contemporary I Collection, by Cole & Son): Lee Jofa, 800/453-3563, leejofa.com.
    Desk (antique, by Eileen Gray); desk chair (flea-market find); desk-chair fabric (by Thomas O'Brien): owner's collection.
    Desk lamp (Thomas O'Brien for Target): Target, target.com, product line varies.

  • Jonny Valiant

    Wallpaper ("Lily" #69/3110, Contemporary II Collection, by Cole & Son): Lee Jofa, 800/453-3563, leejofa.com.
    Mirror: original to house.
    Chair (vintage Eames LCW (lounge chair wood): owner's collection.

  • Jonny Valiant

    Wallpaper (grasscloth): Walnut Wallpaper, 323/932-9166, walnutwallpaper.com.
    Sofa ("Nomade"): Ligne Roset, 212/375-1036, ligne-roset-usa.com.
    Coffee table (vintage); chair; tripod floor lamp (Paris flea market): owner's collection. Area rug ("Cowhide"): West Elm, 888/922-4119, westelm.com.
    Mantel (original to house); mirror (tag sale); ceiling fixture (original to ouse): owner's collection. 

  • Jonny Valiant

    Child's table: target, target.com (product line varies).
    Rug under table: IKEA, 800/434-4532, ikea.com. Bookcases: custom.
    Blackboard: blackboard paint.

Comments

Loading comments...