On the porch, Jane Shelton pillows and wicker chairs add a little romance to a seating area overlooking Lake Michigan.

Designer Tom Stringer likens the living room's color palette to "a Midwestern garden in June." The periwinkle rug is from his collection for Texstyle. Armchair fabric is Victoria Hagan. Drapery fabric is Kathryn M. Ireland.

For consistency, Stringer used the Victoria Hagan fabric from the living room on the Hickory Chair dining chairs.

The large, cheerful kitchen with an adjoining office for Sheila is truly the heart of the house. A mahogany-topped center island is identical to one in Stringer's own home. Cabinetry is all custom-designed by Stringer. Pendant lights are from Vaughan.

Not an inch of wasted space! Drawers under the back stairway add storage.

In the family room, colorful framed travel posters hang above a "double-wide" sofa--custom made for family movie nights.

Stair rails with quirky positive-negative, tulip-shaped cutouts are "a traditional cottage detail, reinterpreted," says Stringer.

In the blue-and-white master bedroom, "We minimized the use of other colors to make it soothing and restful," says Stringer. Shade fabric is Classic Cloth through Dessin Fournir with Samuel & Sons trim.

Cabinets in the master bathroom were custom-designed by Stringer. Fixtures are Waterworks.

In a cozy corner of Caroline's room, a petite bergère upholstered in green and pink becomes the touchstone for the room's pink and green palette.

The summer camp-themed boys' bedroom has oversized bunk beds fitted below with drawers for storage. The rug is from Watson Smith. Shade fabric is Classic Cloth. The drum table is from Richard Mulligan.

Stringer paired periwinkle and polka dots (not to mention that view of Lake Michigan) to create a charming guest bedroom.

You are here

Lakeside Cottage

Designer Tom Stringer creates a fantasy cottage for a young family in need of a little room to grow

Written by Jenny Bradley
Slide 1 Of Lakeside Cottage
Slide 2 Of Lakeside Cottage
Slide 3 Of Lakeside Cottage
Slide 4 Of Lakeside Cottage
Slide 5 Of Lakeside Cottage
Slide 6 Of Lakeside Cottage
Slide 7 Of Lakeside Cottage
Slide 8 Of Lakeside Cottage
Slide 9 Of Lakeside Cottage
Slide 10 Of Lakeside Cottage
Slide 11 Of Lakeside Cottage
Slide 12 Of Lakeside Cottage
Slide 13 Of Lakeside Cottage
Werner Straube

Designer Tom Stringer likens the living room's color palette to "a Midwestern garden in June." The periwinkle rug is from his collection for Texstyle. Armchair fabric is Victoria Hagan. Drapery fabric is Kathryn M. Ireland.

Wall paint ("Pale Almond" #OC-2); ceiling and trim paint ("White Dove" #OC-17): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com.
Sofa (custom): Tom Stringer Design Partners, 312/664-0644, tomstringer.com.
Sofa fabric ("Vizcaya"/Celery #415B74): Raoul Textiles, 805/965-1694, raoultextiles.com.
Sofa pillow fabric ("Four Seasons Linen Print" #4006-3): Victoria Hagan Home, 212/888-3241, victoriahaganhome.com.
Armchairs ("20th Century Armchairs"): The Stalls, 404/352-4430.
Armchair fabric, front ("Four Seasons Linen Print" #4006-3): Victoria Hagan Home, 212/888-3241, victoriahaganhome.com.
Armchair fabric, back ("Maris"/Apple #7262-01, discontinued): Romo Fabrics & Wallcoverings, 800/338-2783, romofabrics.com.
Lounge chairs (custom): Tom Stringer Design Partners, 312/664-0644, tomstringer.com.
Lounge-chair fabric ("Rivage Weave"/Sun, #GWF2406-40, by Groundworks, discontinued): Lee Jofa, 800/453-3563, leejofa.com.
End table ("Parquet Side Table," custom color and size): Niermann Weeks, 212/319-7979, niermannweeks.com.
Cocktail table ("Donner Table," custom color and size): Richard Mulligan, richardmulligan.com.
Bench/ottoman ("Swedish Neoclassical Stool" #2309): Charles Pollock Reproductions Inc., 323/962-0440, charlespollockrepro.com.
Bench fabric ("Marwood Plain"/Blue #J171F-03 by Jane Churchill, discontinued): Cowtan & Tout, 212/647-6900, cowtan.com.
Round side table ("Shelburne Side Table" #4007, custom painted): Dessin Fournir, 785/434-2777, dessinfournir.com.
Side-table paint ("Harlequin Blue" #830): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com.
Glass hurricanes: Ralph Lauren Home, 888/475-7674, ralphlaurenhome.com.
Painting over fireplace: owner's collection.
Horse (antique, Indian): Primitive, 312/575-9600, beprimitive.com.
Drapery ("Storybook"/Yellow #2018): Kathryn Ireland Textiles & Design, 310/399-0300, kathrynireland.com.
Wing chair (1940s): English Accent Antiques, 404/351-9433.
Wing-chair fabric ("Eaton Plain"/Sage #F2104-04, by Colefax & Fowler): Cowtan & Tout, 212/647-6900, cowtan.com.
Cashmere blanket: Pratesi, 212/288-2315, pratesi.com.
Game table (pear wood table/desk, antique): Dearing Antiques, 404/233-6333. Backgammon board: owner's collection.
Area rug ("Tan Tan"/custom colors): Texstyle/Jamie Stern, 800/524-1598, textyledesign.com.

Tags:

Comments

Loading comments...