You are here

House with Vibrant Colors and Patterns

A beautiful staircase is not the only striking feature of this 1913 home

Written by Jenny Bradley
  • Werner Straube

    Wall paint (custom): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667.

    Chair; table; chest; candle lamp; carpet on stairs; wall panels in stairwell; accessories: owner's collection.
    Chair fabric: discontinued.
    Table lamp: Vaughan Designs, 212/319-7070.
    Chandelier; flooring: original to house.

    Tags:
  • Werner Straube

    Wall paint (custom): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com.
    Trim paint ("Cottage White" #DEW-318): Dunn-Edwards, 888/337-2468, dunnedwards.com.
    Mantel original to house.
    Red chairs by mantel: discontinued.
    Chair fabric: Diamond Foam & Fabric, 323/931-8148.
    Animal-print pillows: Pacific Hide & Leather, 310/657-9802, pacifichide.com.
    Fire basket; table in front of red chair; throw pillows on sofa: owner's collection.
    Fireplace fender: Cargo Furnishings & Consignment, 760/773-3130. Drapery: Silk Trading Co., 323/954-9280.
    Table in front of mantel (Chinoiserie stacking): Hollyhock Inc., 310/777-0100, hollyhockinc.com.
    Sofa (custom): Gary Monselle Upholsterers, 323/937-1054.
    Sofa fabric: discontinued.
    Table to left of sofa: discontinued.
    Red lamp on table: Vaughan Designs, 212/319-7070, vaughandesigns.com.
    Lounge chair to right of sofa: owner's collection.
    Chair fabric (by Colefax & Fowler): discontinued.
    Secretary: Saint Martin's Gallery, 601/362-1977.
    Red-plaid wing chair: Lee Jofa, 800/453-3563, leejofa.com.
    Fabric ("Eaton Check"/Terra-Cotta #F1001-16, by Colefax & Fowler): Cowtan & Tout, 212/647-6900.
    Coffee table in front of wing chair; high-back armless chair: owner's collection.
    Wooden chair: Hollyhock Inc., 310/777-0100.
    Table-skirt topper: antique suzani.
    Table lamp: Vaughan Designs, 212/319-7070.
    Rugs: antique serapi.

    Tags:
  • Werner Straube
    Tags:
  • Werner Straube

    Furniture; accessories: owner's collection.
    Rug (Abaca): Crate & Barrel, 800/996-9960, crateandbarrel.com.

    Tags:
  • Werner Straube

    Paint: custom.
    Drapery: Silk Trading Co., 323/954-9280.
    Trim: Clarence House, 800/803-2850, clarencehouse.com.
    Chandelier: Currey & Co., 877/768-6428, curreyco.com.
    Table skirt (silk): Scalamandré, 800/932-4361
    Chairs: owner's collection.
    Chair-seat fabric (by Colefax and Flowler): discontinued.
    Pillow with red flowers; chest; console; rug; china: owner's collection.
    Chinese-style lamp: Hollyhock Inc., 310/777-0100.
    Wine glasses; green glasses: William Yeoward, 800/818-8484, williamyeowardcrystal.com.

    Tags:
  • Werner Straube

    Wall paint ("Cream" #44): Farrow & Ball, 888/511-1121, farrow-ball.com.
    Hanging lanterns (discontinued): Urban Electric Co., 843/723-8140, urbanelectricco.com.
    Cabinetry: Kathryne Designs Inc., 818/623-9104.
    Island countertop: honed marble.
    Bar stools: Pottery Barn, 800/922-5507, potterybarn.com.
    Backsplash: honed marble tile.
    Range; oven hood: Viking, 888/845-4641.

    Tags:
  • Werner Straube

    Cabinetry: Kathryne Designs Inc., 818/623-9104.
    Cabinetry paint ("Cream" #44): Farrow & Ball, 888/511-1121.
    Decorative painting on floor: Mimi Feldman, Demar Feldman Studios, 213/760-0271.

    Tags:
  • Werner Straube

    Sofa; upholstered chairs: owner's collection.
    Sofa fabric; chair fabric: Castle Fabrics, 213/612-0646.
    Throw pillows ("Palmier"/Rose, Aqua, Ecru #10907-02): Cowtan & Tout, 212/647-6900.
    Throw: Peacock Alley, 800/810-0708, peacockalley.com.
    Black barrel table (antique rain drum): Berbere World Imports, 310/842-3842, berbereimports.com.
    Black table lamps: Vaughan Designs, 212/319-7070.
    Console table; art behind sofa: owner's collection.
    Art over table (by Scott Christensen): Scott Christensen Studio, scottchristensenstudio.com.

    Tags:
  • Werner Straube

    Wall paint: custom.
    Cabinetry: Kathryne Designs Inc., 818/623-9104.
    Countertop: Caesarstone USA Inc., 800/666-8201, caesarstoneus.com.
    Sink; faucets; chandelier; art: owner's collection.

    Tags:
  • Werner Straube

    Wallpaper: discontinued.
    Ceiling and trim paint ("Cottage White" #DEW-318): Dunn-Edwards, 888/337-2468, dunnedwards.com.
    Drapery: discontinued.
    Shades: owner's collection.
    Bed (custom): Gary Monselle Upholsterers, 323/937-1054.
    Headboard and bedskirt fabric (glazed chintz): Lee Jofa, 800/453-3563.
    Bed cover: Peacock Alley, 800/810-0708.
    Table lamp; basket: Hollyhock Inc., 310/777-0100.
    Table at end of bed: Crown & Colony Antiques, 251/928-4808, crownandcolony.com.
    Upholstered chair; rug; chandelier; 3-tiered table: owner's collection.

    Tags:
  • Werner Straube

    Wall paint: custom.
    Headboard fabric: Castle Fabrics, 213/612-0646.
    Bedspread: antique suzani.
    Blue duvet: Pottery Barn, 800/922-5507.
    Table lamps: Crate & Barrel, 800/996-9960.
    Striped table skirt: Kravet, 888/457-2838, kravet.com.
    Upholstered chair: owner's collection.
    Drapery: Home Fabrics, 213/689-9600.
    Drapery hardware: Calico Corners, 800/213-6366, calicocorners.com.
    Basket by chair: Hollyhock Inc., 310/777-0100, hollyhockinc.com.
    Art over bed: by Herb Seymour, 310/472-0711, herbseymour.com.

    Tags:
  • Werner Straube

    Outdoor fabric: Sunbrella, 336/221-2211, sunbrella.com

    Tags:
  • Werner Straube

    Black wicker chairs: Pottery Barn, 800/922-5507.
    Outdoor fabric: Sunbrella, 336/221-2211, sunbrella.com.
    Patterned pillows: Pier 1 Imports, 800/245-4595, pier1.com.
    Gray patio furniture; lanterns; urns: owner's collection.

    Tags:
  • Werner Straube
    Tags:
  • Werner Straube
    Tags:
  • Trad Home Gift Offer

Comments

Loading comments...