You are here

House with Vibrant Color and Light

A once-dark maze of rooms becomes bright, thanks to a remodel and colors that banish the blahs. 

Written by Amy Elbert
  • Prev
  • next
  • 1 of 15
  • Werner Straube
  • Werner Straube

    Sources, including previous slide.

    Sofa (custom); red upholstered chairs (custom); ottoman (custom); stools under console (custom): Massucco Warner Miller Interior Design & Decoration, 310/570-0084.
    Sofa fabric ("Versailles Velvet"/Brown): Kravet, 888/457-2838, kravet.com.
    Sofa pillows: Judy Ross Textiles, 212/842-1705, judyrosstextiles.com.
    Chair fabric ("Gweneth Linen"/Coral #79777): Schumacher, 800/523-1200, fschumacher.com.
    White trim on chairs, pleat ("Shalimar"/Kotah #800001-10): Rogers & Goffigon, 203/532-8068.
    Pillow in red chair ("Harriett"/Lima #321B76, oyster linen): Raoul Textiles, 805/899-4947, raoultextiles.com.
    Ottoman fabric ("Montuno" #TRF5613/04): Osborne & Little, 877/322-7420, osborneandlittle.com.
    Oval-backed chair: owner's collection.
    Fabric on chair-seat, front ("Roma Leather"/White): Frank's Leather & Hides, 415/551-1405.
    Fabric on chair back and on stool under console ("Java-Java"/New Shrimp by China Seas): Quadrille Wallpapers & Fabrics, 212/753-2995, quadrillefabrics.com.
    Drapery and valance ("Como Silk"/Coral): The Silk Trading Co., 323/954-9280, silktrading.com.
    Wall paint ("Bleeker Beige" #HC-80): Benjamin Moore & Co, 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com.
    End table; table lamp (vintage); accessories: owner's collection.
    Coffee table ("Rope Twist Coffee Table" #8550); coral on coffee table: Baker, 800/592-2537, bakerfurniture.com.
    Area rug ("Papyrus"/Fawn): Stark Carpet Corp., 212/752-9000, starkcarpet.com.
    Console table at window (custom): Eric Brand Furniture, 650/259-0207, ericbrand.com.
    Finish on console ("North Creek Brown" #1001): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667.
    Lamps on console ("Ceramic Knife Box Lamps" #G61): Stephen Gerould, 503/221-7253, stephengerould.com.
    Crystal cluster: vintage.
    Bookends on console: Baker, 800/592-2537.
    Boxes on console: Anthem, 415/440-6500.

  • Werner Straube
  • Werner Straube
  • Werner Straube

    Table (custom, "Cavallo Dining Table" #11-0006): David Iatesta, 410/604-0360, davidiatesta.com.
    Chairs and fabric: owner's collection.
    Dishes ("Hampton Court"): William Yeoward Crystal, 800/818-8484, williamyeowardcrystal.com.
    Blue urn: DeSousa Hughes, 415/626-6883, desousahughes.com.
    Chandelier ("Light Drizzle"): Ochre, 212/414-4332, ochre.net.
    Area rug ("Sisal Natura"/Platimum): Stark Carpet Corp., 212/752-9000, starkcarpet.com.
    Mirrored server (custom): Massucco Warner Miller Interior Design & Decoration, 310/570-0084.
    Drapery (silk #8815-14): Kravet, 888/457-2838, kravet.com.
    Art: vintage.
    Wall paint ("Woodmont Cream" #204): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667.
    Trim paint ("Country Stove White" #WH02B): Ralph Lauren Paint, 800/379-7656, ralphlaurenhome.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Chandelier ("Light Drizzle"): Ochre, 212/414-4332, ochre.net.

  • Werner Straube

     Cabinetry (custom): Cardea Building Co., 415/407-6425, cardeabuildingco.com.

    Cabinetry finish ("Country Stove White" #WH02B): Ralph Lauren Paint, 800/379-7656, ralphlaurenhome.com.
    Cabinetry hardware: Restoration Hardware, 800/910-9836, restorationhardware.com.
    Countertops: Calcutta marble, honed.
    Lights over island ("Waterfall Small Pendant"/Nickel #R80.0102): Chameleon Fine Lighting, 212/355-6300, chameleon59.com.
    Backsplash tile ("Seville" by Michael S Smith): Ann Sacks, 800/278-8453, annsacks.com.
    Refrigerator: Sub-Zero Inc., 800/222-7820, subzero.com.
    Faucet: Elkay, 630/574-8484, elkayusa.com.
    Paint ("Healing Aloe" #1562): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com.
    Counter stools ("Series 7 Counter Stool"/Lime): Design Within Reach, 866/377-0825, dwr.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Table ("Heritage Pedestal Table" #516): McGuire, 415/241-1228, mcguirefurniture.com.
    Banquette (custom): Massucco Warner Miller Interior Design & Decoration, 310/570-0084.
    Banquette cushion ("Foxton"/Ocean #J475F-02, by Jane Churchill): Cowtan & Tout, 212/647-6900, cowtan.com.
    Blue pillow; white-and-orange pillow: Krimsa Fine Rugs & Decor, 415/441-4321, krimsa.com.
    Orange pillow with ovals (no longer available): Z Gallerie, 800/785-8961, zgallerie.com.
    Chairs ("Verve Side Chairs"): Conde House, 415/864-8666, condehouse.com.
    Chair-seat leather ("Cervino"/Orangina #28-6): Cortina Leathers, 800/338-6229, cortinaleathers.com.
    Shades ("Ravenna"/Indigo): Christopher Farr Cloth, christopherfarrcloth.com. Available through DeSousa Hughes, 415/626-6883.
    Hanging light over table ("Sorensen Lantern"): Remains Lighting, 212/675-8051, remains.com.
    Art behind banquette (by Marshall Crossman): Dolby Chadwick Gallery, 415/956-3560.
    Wall paint ("Woodmont Cream" #204): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667.
    Ceiling and trim paint ("Country Stove White" #WH02B): Ralph Lauren Paint, 800/379-7656, ralphlaurenhome.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Bed (custom); bedside table (custom); benches at end of bed: Massucco Warner Miller Interior Design & Decoration, 310/570-0084.
    Headboard fabric ("Hunt Leather"/Stingray): Holly Hunt, 312/661-1900, hollyhunt.com.
    Blue bed-skirt fabric (silk #8486-115): Kravet, 888/457-2838, kravet.com.
    Blue pillow on bed ("Spice Market"/Blue-Gray Salt): Donghia, 914/662-2377, donghia.com.
    Orange pillow ("Zenzero"/Saffron): Dedar, 800/493-2209, dedar.com.
    Bedding (no longer available): Restoration Hardware, 800/910-9836, restorationhardware.com.
    Table lamp "Archytas") Gregorius/Pineo, 310/204-0400. Available through Kneedler Fauchere, 310/855-1313.
    Bench fabric ("Sophia Jacquard"/Sky): Donghia, 914/662-2377, donghia.com.
    Drapery ("Schooner"/Aft #930013-02): Rogers & Goffigon, 203/532-8068.
    Shades: owner's collection.
    Carpet ("Ashton"): Stark Carpet Corp., 212/752-9000, starkcarpet.com.
    Walls: Kravet, 888/457-2838, kravet.com.
    Ceiling and trim paint ("Ivory Tusk" #2153-70): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667.

  • Werner Straube

    Wallpaper ("Summer Palace"/W5734/03): Osborne & Little, 877/322-7420, osborneandlittle.com.
    Bed (custom): Massucco Warner Miller Interior Design & Decoration, 310/570-0084.
    Headboard fabric ("Glazed Nice"/Alabaster): Clarence House, 800/803-2850, clarencehouse.com.
    Bedding with blue trim ("Scallop"/Blue, Traditional Collection): Matouk, matouk.com.
    Bedside table ("Preston Side Table"): Jonathan Adler, 800/657-7752, jonathanadler.com.
    Table lamp ("Lotus"): Visual Comfort & Co., 713/686-5999. Available through Circa Lighting, 877/762-2323, circalighting.com.
    Pillow (vintage Fortuny fabric): Wynne Alex, 415/922-1600.

  • Werner Straube

    Armoire (custom): Massucco Warner Miller Interior Design & Decoration, 310/570-0084.
    Armoire finish ("Linen White"): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667.
    Shades (Chain Link"/Alabaster #9524-111): Kravet, 888/457-2838, kravet.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Wallpaper ("Edo"/Brown on Almost White, by China Seas): Quadrille Walpapers & Fabrics, 212/753-2995, quadrillefabrics.com.
    Vanity cabinet (custom): Massucco Warner Miller Interior Design & Decoration, 310/570-0084.
    Faucet (Infinity Series): Graff, 800/954-4723, graff-faucets.com.
    Mirror: vintage.
    Tile: Dal-Tile Corp., 214/398-14211, daltileproducts.com.

  • Werner Straube
  • Werner Straube

Comments

Loading comments...