You are here

Historic Family Home

Historic Pease Mansion in Austin receives a fresh, modern makeover

Written by Candace Ord Manroe
  • John Granen
  • John Granen

    Drapery ("Montague’’/Amber on Wheat): George Cameron Nash, 214/744-1544, georgecameronnash.com, trade only.
    Paint: custom.
    Sofa: Mark Ashby Design, 512/420-8177.
    Sofa fabric (#19543-116): Kravet, 888/457-2838, kravet.com, trade only. Coffee table: Mac Maison Ltd., 504/891-2863, macmaisonltd.1stdibs.com. Chairs: James Powell Antiques, 512/477-9939.
    Rug: Creative Flooring, 713/522-1181.
    Pedestal table: The Gray Door, 713/521-9085.
    Brass-and-glass table; ram’s horn: Mark Ashby Design, 512/420-8177. Mantel and fireplace surround: original to house.
    Chandelier; barley twist-style chair: Randall Edward, 713/521-9888, randalledward.com.
    Gold shield in fireplace: Martha Sturdy, 604/872-5205, marthasturdy.com.

  • John Granen

    Table; consoles: Lars Bolander, 212/924-1000, larsbolander.com.
    Chairs: Dreyfus Antiques Galleries, 512/473-2443.
    Chair fabric ("Cerro’’/Moth): George Cameron Nash, 214/744-1544, trade only.
    Chandelier: The Gray Door, 713/521-9085.
    Rug: Odegard, 800/670-8836, odegardinc.com, trade only.
    Wheat sconces over mantel: Tipler’s Lamp Shop, 512/472-5007.
    Drapery ("Provence’’/Sky by Kohly): Dorian Bahr, 713/599-0900, trade only. Lamps on console: James Powell Antiques, 512/477-9939.

  • John Granen
     

    Settee: James Powell Antiques, 512/477-9939.
    Fabric ("Casanova’’/Suede Chino, by Jacqueline Scott Ltd): owner’s collection.
    Floor lamps (by Thomas Pheasant): Baker, 800/592-2537.
    Paint ("Maritime White’’ #OC-5): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667.
    Stair runner: Merida Meridian Inc., 800/345-2200, meridameridian.com.
    Chandelier: Mac Maison Ltd., 504/891-2863.

  • John Granen

    Sofas: Billy Baldwin by Ventry Ltd., 732/872-7300, ventryltd.com.
    Sofa fabric ("Bravo! Caffe’’/Dark Brown #7550-18): Donghia Furniture/Textiles Ltd., 800/366-4442, donghia.com, trade only.
    Pillow fabric (printed linen, by China Seas): Quadrille Wallpapers & Fabrics, 212/ 753-2995, trade only.
    Roman shades: latex linen. Club chairs: Lee Industries, 800/892-7150, leeindustries.com.
    Club-chair fabric ("Basketcase’’/Aquamarine Velvet #10011-14): Donghia Furniture/Textiles Ltd., 800/366-4442, trade only.
    Sisal rug: Merida Meridian Inc., 800/ 345-2200.
    Desk: Kay O’Toole Antiques, 713/523-1921, kayotooleantiques.com.
    Bar stools: McGuire Furniture Co., 800/662-4847, kohlerinteriors, trade only.
    Pendant lights (by Halofane): Wyeth, 212/243-3661. Kitchen cabinetry: Tom Hatch, 512/474-8548.

  • John Granen

    Historic Hinge

    A hinge salvaged during a renovation of the Texas capitol in the 1950s.

  • John Granen

    Pretty Sitting

    Less is more in this home’s design.

  • John Granen

    Paint ("Tawny’’ #2161-20): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com.
    Rug: Edgar Kelly Rugs, 888/882-4406, edgarkellyrugs.com.
    Console: Karla Katz, 504/897-0061.
    French chairs and cocktail table: Mac Maison, 504/891-2863.
    Drapery (silk taffeta): Robert Allen, 800/333-3777, robertallendesign.com, trade only.
    Mantel and fireplace surround: original to house.
    Fire screen: Stoll, stollfireplaceinc.com.
    Chandelier (carved ram’s head): Skelton White & Co., 513/524-1990.

  • John Granen

    Designer Portrait

    Interior designers Mary Ames and Mark Ashby