You are here

Glamour and Sophistication

The design of a Lake Forest home combines traditional elements with an edgy twist 

Written by Krissa Rossbund
  • Werner Straube
  • Werner Straube

    Rug (custom, "Aurora''): Atelier Lapchi, 312/321-0090, lapchi.com.
    Coffee table ("Rateau Coffee Table'' #3008): Dessin Fournir, 785/434-2777, dessinfournir.com, trade only.
    Upholstered walls (from Summer Hill); ottoman (custom); ottoman fabric (by Kravet); drapery (by Jane Churchill); drapery cording (by Rogers & Goffigon): owner's collection.
    Sconces: Vaughan Designs, 212/319-7070, vaughandesigns.com, trade only.
    Art above mantel (by Angelo Filomeno): Galerie Lelong, 212/315-0470, galerielelong.com.
    Love seats ("Clermont'' #SF9933/Orleans with Antique Silver custom finish): Lewis Mittman, 212/888-5580, ef-lm.com, trade only.
    Love-seat fabric ("Renaissance''/Angora #1072/02): ClassicCloth, 785/434-7200, trade only.
    Pillow fabric front ("Lago''/Cream, Panna #DE10301); embroidery ("Athena,'' discontinued); back ("Opera Silk Velvet''/Silver White #DE10391): Holland & Sherry, 212/355-6241, trade only.
    Candlesticks; rhinoceros: Nymphenburg, nymphenburg.com. Available through Kneen & Co., 312/787-7003, kneenandco.com.
    Silver vases: Hermès, 800/441-4488, hermes.com. trade only.
    Chairs in windows ("Annecy Chair'' #21-03801-2223): Niermann Weeks, 212/319-7979, niermannweeks.com, trade only.
    Chair fabric (#Soho 2191-4): Bergamo Fabrics, 914/665-0800, bergamofabrics.com, trade only.

  • Werner Straube

    Floor: original to house.
    Chair in entry ("St. Simone Occasional Chair'' #VH1701): Victoria Hagan Home, 212/888-3241, victoriahaganhome.com, trade only. Available through Design Atelier, 312/822-0440.
    Chair fabric ("Pesaro''/Ivory #1165-01): ClassicCloth, 785/434-7200, classicclothfabrics.com, trade only.
    Elephant on table in entry ("Flowers of Life'' pattern, designed by Sebastian Menschorn): Nymphenburg, nymphenburg.com. Available through Kneen & Co., 312/787-7003, kneenandco.com.
    Wall covering ("Stitched Vertical''/Silver #MR-SV-58-055-S, by David Rockwell): Maya Romanoff, 773/465-6909, mayaromanoff.com, trade only.

  • Werner Straube
  • Werner Straube

    Mirrored table; accessories; eglomise: owner's collection.
    Lamp: Mig & Tig Furniture, 312/644-8277, migandtig.com.
    Bench ("Sabonne Bench''): Dennis & Leen through Holly Hunt, 312/661-1900, trade only.
    Bench fabric ("Flamingo,'' Couture Collection): Cortina Leathers, 800/338-6229, cortinaleathers.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Ceiling treatment (Antique Silver Leaf); decorative painting on eglomise: Simes Studios Inc., 773/327-7101, simesstudios.com.
    Chandeliers: Schonbek, 800/836-1892, schonbek.com.
    Trumeau (custom): Armand Lee & Co., 312/455-1200, armandlee.com.
    Strié finish on walls: DesignRed Decorative Painting, 866/857-5999.

  • Werner Straube

    Wall covering (custom, "Plum Blossom'' in Bronze Metallic Paper, Japanese and Korean Collection): De Gournay, 212/564-9750, degournay.com, trade only.
    Table ("Osterly Dining Table,'' custom): Dessin Fournir, 785/434-2777, trade only.
    Side chairs ("Roman Dining Chair" #0500): Michael Taylor Designs, 312/828-0488, trade only.
    Chair-seat fabric ("Fer Forge''/Chanterelle'' #1136-05): ClassicCloth, 785/434-7200, trade only.
    Host chairs ("Norma Wing Chair'' with nail trim #BD209, by Barry Dixon): J. Lambeth & Co., 202/646-1774, trade only.
    Chair slipcovers ("Indian Summer''/First Frost #2950/01 by Great Plains): Holly Hunt, 312/661-1900, trade only.
    Chandelier ("Venetian Silver Leaf Mirror Chandelier''/Antiqued Silver Leaf): Candace Barnes, 415/431-1018.
    Sconces ("Venezia Wall Sconce"): Jean De Merry, 310/289-0991, jeandemerry.com, trade only. Available through Kara Mann Showroom, 312/893-7590, karamann.com.
    Rug (Palmette area rug design from Lace Collection): Tai Ping Carpets, 312/644-0400, taipingcarpets.com.
    Selenite fireplace logs: Ruzetti & Gow, 212/327-4281, ruzzettiandgow.com.
    Tall urns (vintage): 1st Dibs, 1stdibs.com.
    Porcelain birds: Nymphenburg, nymphenburg.com. Through Kneen & Co., 312/787-7003, kneenandco.com.
    Birdcages: Caste Design, 312/432-0717, castedesign.com.
    Photograph above mantel (Unknown Land, by Ori Gersht): Angles Gallery, 310/396-5019, anglesgallery.com.
    Amethyst rocks: ABC Carpet & Home, 212/473-3000, abchome.com.

  • Werner Straube

    China (hand-painted, custom design, adapted by Sebastian Menschhorn from his "Flowers of Life'' collection, by Nymphenburg); porcelain cups; stemware; silverware: Kneen & Co., 312/787-7003, kneenandco.com.

  • Werner Straube

    China cabinet ("Cherington Bookcase'' #Y202): William Yeoward, williamyeoward.com.
    Finish, exterior ("White Tie'' #2002); finish, interior ("Dead Salmon" #28) Farrow & Ball, 888/511-1121.
    Collectibles in cabinet ("Flowers of Life'' collection of hand-painted animals by Sebastian Menschhorn): Nymphenburg, nymphenburg.com. Through Kneen & Co., 312/787-7003, kneenandco.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Island cabinetry (hand-scraped Honey on Walnut); cabinetry flanking range (Honey on Walnut-Scored Fronts); upper cabinets on sink wall (Maple with White Milk Paint finish); refrigerator armoire (Burnished Bronze on Character Butternut): De Giulio Kitchen Design Inc., 847/256-8833, degiulio.org.
    Range: Wolf Appliance Co., 800/332-9513, wolfappliance.com.
    Refrigerator: Sub-Zero Inc., 800/222-7820, subzero.com.
    Countertops and backsplash (granite); faucets: owner's collection.
    Chandeliers over island ("Audrey'' #8068): Ironware International, 800/850-0460, ironwareinternational.com.
    Bar stools ("Louis XIII Bar Stools'' by Dennis & Leen): Holly Hunt, 312/661-1900, trade only.
    Bar-stool fabric ("Montauk"/Tobacco #NC0808-077): Nancy Corzine, 212/223-8340, trade only.
    Wall treatment (stucco luster): custom.

  • Werner Straube

    Breakfast table; armoire ("Quatrefoil Armoire'' #43-W2199-6128): Niermann Weeks, 212/319-7979, niermannweeks.com, trade only.
    Chairs ("Chippendale Arm Chair'' by Dennis & Leen); chandelier (by Formations): Holly Hunt, 312/661-1900, trade only.
    Chair fabric ("Montauk''/Tobacco #NC0808-077): Nancy Corzine, 212/223-8340, trade only.
    Espresso maker ("Miele Coffee System'' #CVA4070); plate-and-cup warmer (#EGW4060-14): Miele Inc., 800/463-0260, miele.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Buffet ("Pyrenees Console Table''/Weathered Sugar Pine #60-02A): Caché, 310/657-0665, cachecollection.com, trade only.
    Moroccan rug (antique): Hannoun Rugs, 773/248-0033, hannounrugs.com.
    Photographs (by David Halliday): Arthur Roger Gallery, 504/522-1999.
    Porcelain (tree, birds); pieces: Nymphenburg, nymphenburg.com. Through Kneen & Co., 312/787-7003, kneenandco.com.
    Roman shades ("Conrad Original Sunshades''/Eclipse #1726): Conrad Shades, 866/426-6723, conradshades.com, trade only.
    Fabrication: Debra Dunn Elegant Custom Draperies Inc., 773/763-2926.
    Boxes: Hermès, 800/441-4488, hermes.com, trade only.

  • Werner Straube

    Antique silver leaf wall and ceiling treatment; faux bois cabinet treatment: DesignRed Decorative Painting, 866/857-5999, designredstudio.com.
    Chandelier ("Teardrop''): Bodo Sperlein Ltd., 011 44 207 633 9413, bodosperlein.com.
    Sink (silver); countertop (Calacatta Gold Marble): existing.
    Many of the porcelain pieces: Nymphenburg, nymphenburg.com. Through Kneen &Co., 312/787-7003, kneenandco.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Rug (custom, "Mirage'' in color CC350): Atelier Lapchi, 312/321-0090, lapchi.com.
    Sofa ("Standard Cricket Sofa,'' Studio H); sofa fabric ("Silk & Sexy''/Seal, by Great Plains); pair of armchairs ("Standard Paris Chair,'' Studio H); bench fabric ("Rendezvous"/Silver, by Great Plains): Holly Hunt, 312/661-1900, trade only.
    Benches (chairs remade into benches): 1st Dibs, 1stdibs.com.
    Armchair fabric ("Capriolo" #1867): Bergamo Fabrics, 914/665-0800, bergamofabrics.com, trade only.
    Coffee table ("Tao Table'' by Blackman Cruz); bucket chair ("Lora Armchair'' by Jean De Merry): available through Kara Mann Showroom, 312/893-7590.
    Fabric on "Loro'' chair and pillows on sofa ("Maya'' #2318): Bergamo Fabrics, 914/665-0800, trade only.
    Drapery ("Great Lash''/Smoky, Charcoal #10056-09): Donghia, 914/662-2377, donghia.com, trade only.
    Wall treatment ("Washi''/Gilded Aubergine, discontinued): Maya Romanoff, 773/465-6909, trade only.
    Painting above mantel (by Hiro Yokose): Carrie Secrist Gallery, 312/491-0917, secristgallery.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Table ("Bennett Center Table'' #11-0304-64); chandelier ("Rouleau Chandelier'' #41-0312R-32): David Iatesta, 410/604-0360, davidiatesta.com, trade only.
    Chairs ("Athens Chair" #2901S): Artistic Frame, 212/289-2100, trade only.
    Chair fabric ("Shibori Jacquard''/Steel, #10154-09): Donghia, 914/662-2377, trade only.
    Bench: Gray Morell Antiques & Fine Reproductions, 310/657-2200, trade only.
    Bench fabric ("Federico"/Avorio Argento #I6458-001, by Fadini Borghi): Pierre Frey, 212/213-3099, pierrefrey.com, trade only.

  • Werner Straube

    Table ("Wexford Console'' #13-9807): David Iatesta, 410/604-0360, davidiatesta.com, trade only.
    Mirror ("Ashanti Mirror'' #52-02099-4800): Niermann Weeks, 212/319-7979, niermannweeks.com, trade only.

  • Werner Straube
  • Werner Straube

    Art behind bed (custom, Beercan Butterfly art installation by Paul Villinski): Morgan Lehman Gallery, 212/268-6699.
    Bed (custom); night tables (custom): Kara Mann Design, 312/893-7550, karamann.com.
    Bed upholstery (discontinued): Bergamo Fabrics, 914/665-0800, trade only.
    Bedding ("Grisaille''): Muse Couture, 312/595-9604, musegroup.com.
    Pair of mirrors (vintage): Douglas Rosin Decorative Arts & Antiques, LLC, 312/337-6556, douglasrosin.com.
    Bedside table lamps (custom, rock crystal): JF Chen, 323/466-9700, jfchen.com, trade only.
    Sconce ("Oculus Reflector Wall-Mount Sconce''/Pewter #MA-1005, by Michael Amato): Urban Electric Co., 843/723-8140, urbanelectricco.com, trade only.
    Paint ("Elephant's Breath'' #229): Farrow & Ball, 888/511-1121.

  • Werner Straube

    Rug ("Midtown''/Moleskin, woven Wilton construction, cut-pile velvet): Stark Carpet Corp., 212/752-9000, starkcarpet.com, trade only.
    Coffee table ("Macau Table'' by Dennis & Leen): Holly Hunt, 312/661-1900, trade only.
    Sofa ("Geoffrey Sofa''): Bradley Hughes, 404/814-9595, trade only.
    Sofa fabric ("Debutante''/Abigail #10032-48): Donghia, 914/662-2377, trade only.
    Chest: Antiques on Old Plank Road, 630/887-1995, oldplank.com.
    Drapery ("Leverlin,'' #7675, by Larsen): Cowtan & Tout, 212/647-6900, cowtan.com, trade only.
    Wall treatment ("Stitched Vertical''/Silver #MR-SV-58-055-S): Maya Romanoff, 773/465-6909, mayaromanoff.com, trade only.
    Painting above mantel (by Christopher Orr): Nyehaus, nyehaus.com.
    Elephants on mantel: Nymphenburg, nymphenburg.com.

  • Werner Straube
  • Werner Straube
  • The Sidecar, price available upon request from Moore & Giles [1-800-737-0169]

    This beautifully crafted bar cart, The Sidecar by Moore and Giles, is a great way to store liquor, glassware, bar tools, and anything else needed to complete your own miniature bar. The cart, made of Virginia black walnut, birch, leather, aluminum, and brass, is wheeled to make sure the party can travel with you. Perfect for drink-lovers without the space for a full bar.