You are here

Fresh Design for an Architectural Treasure

Grand spaces are made approachable in this twenties-era Mediterranean beauty

Written and produced by Jenny Bradley
  • prev
  • Next
  • 14 of 14
  • Dominique Vorillon

    Fireplace; fire screen and fire tools; floors (white oak): original to house.
    Sofas (custom): Mark J. Williams Design, 323/856-9089, markjwilliamsdesign.com. Sofa fabric ("Lido"/Green Tea #2020-03, linen velvet): Rose Tarlow-Melrose House, 323/651-2202, rosetarlow.com.
    Patterned pillows at either end of sofa (antique fabric): Rugs and Art, 310/247-1176. Pink striped pillow on sofa ("Mercer Stripe", by Travers, discontinued): Zimmer + Rohde, 866/627-6899, zimmer-rohde.com.
    Small pillow (antique): owner's collection.
    Coffee table: Waldo's Designs, 310/278-1803, waldosdesigns.com.
    Tray-style end table (antique): J.F. Chen, 310/559-2436, jfchen.com.
    Small chair (antique): Melissa Levinson Antiques, 323/936-1530, melissalevinson.com.
    Chair fabric: Fortuny Fabrics, 212/753-7153.
    Chandelier ("Daphne"): Paul Ferrante Inc., 323/653-4142, paulferrante.com.
    Mirror ("Sunburst Mirror" #7013D): Baker, 800/592-2537, bakerfurniture.com.
    Large mirror behind sofa (antique): Waldo's Designs, 310/278-1803, waldosdesigns.com.
    Area rug (reproduction): Mansour Rug, 310/652-9999, mansourrug.com.
    Sconces over mantel ("Ibex 3 Sconce"): Remains Lighting, 310/358-9100 and 212/675-8051, remains.com.
    Table to left of mantel (antique); shell box on table: owner's collection.
    Hand sculpture: Sing Kai Hong, 310/659-6245.
    Art over table (by Marc Whitney): Whitney Gallery, 949/497-4322, marcwhitney.com.
    Wall paint ("Slipper Satin" #2004) Farrow & Ball, 888/511-1121, farrow-ball.com.
    Wicker basket: Hollyhock, 310/777-0100, hollyhockinc.com.
    Molding: original to house.

  • Dominique Vorillon

    Library table (chinoiserie reproduction); throw on bench: owner's collection.
    Bench ("William IV Bench"): Alton House, 323/856-9089, markjwilliamsdesign.com. Bench fabric ("Mohair Velvet"/Blood Orange #810001-05): Rogers & Goffigon, 203/532-8068.
    Area rug (antique): Samuel's Rug Gallery, 310/657-3666.
    Cabinet/bookcase (custom, mahogany with crotch mahogany inlay): Mark J. Williams Design, 323/856-9089.
    Items in bookcase: assorted Chinese creamware.
    Chair by bookcase: owner's collection.
    Chair fabric ("All Over Floral"): Bennison Fabrics, 323/653-7277, bennisonfabrics.com.
    Arched windows behind sofa: original to house.

  • Dominique Vorillon
  • Dominique Vorillon

    Floors (marble): original to house.
    Demilune table (antique): owner's collection. Chairs ("Rope-Leg Chair" in hand-dyed leather): Alton House, 323/856-9089.

  • Dominique Vorillon

    Floors (terra-cotta); paneling (bleached walnut): original to house.
    Dining table (custom); console table (custom): Mark J. Williams Design, 323/856-9089, markjwilliamsdesign.com.
    Chairs ("Chinoiserie Side Chair") Alton House, 323/856-9089.
    Chair-seat fabric (#SP-671-3-K, discontinued): Dogwood Fabrics, 800/883-5500, dogwoodfabrics.com.
    Chandeliers ("Darren"): Paul Ferrante, 323/653-4142, paulferrante.com.
    Area rug (antique): owner's collection.
    Drapery (custom print): Le Gracieux, 818/767-2525, legracieux.com.
    Stemware (discontinued): Ralph Lauren Home, 888/475-7674, ralphlaurenhome.com.

  • Dominique Vorillon

    Smaller hanging lights (antique): Remains Lighting, 310/358-9100, remains.com.
    Oven hood: custom.
    Faucets: Harrington Brass Works, 201/818-1300, harringtonbrassworks.com.
    Range: Wolf Appliance Inc., 800/332-9513, subzero-wolf.com.
    Backsplash tile: Exquisite Surfaces. 310/659-4580, xsurfaces.com.

  • Dominique Vorillon

    Cabinetry (custom design, walnut); dark finish on cabinetry (custom dark walnut finish): Mark J. Williams Design, 323/856-9089, markjwilliamsdesign.com.
    Cabinetry fabrication: Thomas Nigh, Essential Millwork, 818/771-1004, essentialmillwork.com.
    Light finish on cabinetry ("French Gray" #18): Farrow & Ball, 888/511-1121, farrow-ball.com.
    Table base (antique): Maison au Naturel, 310/657-1002, maison819.net.
    Table top ("Petit Granit," from Belgium): Exquisite Surfaces, 800/970-9798, xsurfaces.com.
    Metal chairs ("Tolix Marais A Chair" #15034) Design Within Reach, 800/944-2233, dwr.com.
    Seat cushions ("Fresh Canvas"/Sunset #100-17, Great Outdoors Collection): Holly Hunt, 312/661-1900, hollyhunt.com.
    Wicker chair: owner's colleciton.
    Hanging light over table (antique): Waldo's Designs, 310/278-1803, waldosdesigns.com.

  • Dominique Vorillon

    Wicker furniture (flea market find, repainted): owner's collection.
    Seat cushions: Diamond Foam & Fabrics, 323/931-8148, diamondfoamandfabrics.com.
    Hanging lights ("Biltmore"): Steven Handelman Studios, 805/962-5119, stevenhandelmanstudios.com.
    Shutters: original to house.
    Small hanging spheres: Home Depot, homedepot.com.

  • Dominique Vorillon

    Table; dining chairs; wicker chairs: owner's collection.
    Chair-seat cushions ("Sari"/Turmeric #310-U25): Raoul Textiles, 805/965-1694, raoultextiles.com.
    Round stool by wicker chairs: Z Gallerie, 800/908-6748, zgallerie.com.
    Planters (antique): original to house.

  • Dominique Vorillon

    Fireplace: original to house.
    Bed: Custom Craft Upholsterers, 323/937-9557.
    Bed drapery ("Aegean Stripe"/Dove, Celadon #11084-04): Cowtan & Tout, 212/647-6900, cowtan.com.
    Bedspread; coverlet at end of bed: Between the Sheets, 800/550-7869, between thesheetsinc.com.
    Slipper chairs (custom); love seat (custom): Mark J. Williams Design, 323/856-9089, markjwilliamsdesign.com.
    Chair fabric: Le Gracieux, 818/767-2525, legracieux.com.
    Fringe ("8-inch Rouen Tassel Fringe" #984-41594-03): Samuel & Sons, 212/704-8000, samuelandsons.com.
    Love-seat fabric ("Brianna Floral"/Blue #LCF24340F): Ralph Lauren Home, 888/475-7674, ralphlaurenhome.com.
    Parchment coffee tables (antique): Fat Chance, 323/930-1960.
    Area rug (reproduction): Mansour Rug, 310/652-9999, mansourrug.com.
    Sisal rug: Decorative Carpets, 866/859-0032, decorativecarpets.com.
    Drapery ("Fiorella" #92902-06): Rogers & Goffigon, 203/532-8068.
    Mantel; sconces over mantel; fire screen and andirons: original to house.
    Art over mantel (by Marc Whitney): Whitney Gallery, 949/497-4322, marcwhitney.com.
    Sunburst-style mirror: owner's collection.
    Wallpaper (custom, by San Patrignano): from Martin Lane, 310/375-2105.

  • Dominique Vorillon
  • Dominique Vorillon

    Cabinetry (custom); mirror (custom): Thomas Nigh, Essential Millwork, 818/771-1004, essentialmillwork.com.
    Backsplash above vanity ("Cobblestone Diamonds" #V-25); tile floor ("Cobblestone Hexagons" #V-25): Creative Environments Inc., 310/652-3713.
    Wall sconces (For Town, by Michael S Smith); vanity faucets (For Town, by Michael S Smith): Kallista, 888/452-5547, kallista.com. Vanity countertop: Calacatta marble.
    Tub (vintage); tub faucets (vintage): Pasadena Architectural Salvage, 626/535-9655.
    Wall paint ("Cornforth White" #228): Farrow & Ball, 888/511-1121. farrow-ball.com.
    Bench: Waterworks, 800/899-6757, waterworks.com.
    Sheers ("Ghent Casement"): Calvin Fabrics, 888/732-1996, calvinfabrics.com.

  • Dominique Vorillon

Comments

Loading comments...