You are here

Designer Skip Sroka's Own Home

A designer’s D.C. home is filled with creative solutions to practical problems.

Written by Candace Ord Manroe
  • Werner Straube

    Mantel (designed by Skip Sroka): Sroka Design, 301/263-9100, srokadesign.com.
    Fireplace screen: Decorative Crafts, 800/431-4455, decorativecrafts.com. Available through Sroka Design, 301/263-9100, srokadesign.com.
    Sconces: antique.
    Chair left of mantel ("Washu Chair" #PB9930, by Powell & Bonnell): Dennis Miller Assoc., 212/684-0070, dennismiller.com.
    Glass-top end table: Sroka Design, 301/263-9100, srokadesign.com.
    Floor lamp (by Visual Comfort): Circa Lighting, 877/762-2323, circalighting.com.
    Chair to right of mantel: BSG, Buying Service Group Inc., 301/263-9300, buy4designers.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Sofa ("Ariel Series" #6884): R. Jones & Assoc., 214/951-0091, rjones.com.
    Sofa fabric (discontinued): Arc-Com Fabrics Inc., 800/223-5466, arc-com.com.
    Pillows: Clarence House, 800/803-2850, clarencehouse.com.
    Coffee table (custom, by Skip Sroka): Sroka Design, 301/263-9100, srokadesign.com.
    Chair at left of sofa: BSG, Buying Service Group Inc., 301/263-9300, buy4designers.com.
    End table left of sofa: Eric Brand, 650/259-0207, ericbrand.com.
    Lamp on end table (discontinued): Donghia, 914/662-2377, donghia.com.
    Art on end table (from Prague, Czechoslovakia): owner's collection.
    End table to right of sofa: Global Views, 888/956-0030, golobalviews.com.
    Lamp on end table: Sroka Design, 301/263-9100, srokadesign.com.
    Drapery ("Lavish"/Chocolate #26837-6); drapery trim ("Soho Braid"/Subway #TA5361-6): Kravet, 888/457-2838, kravet.com.
    Woodwork (designed by Skip Sroka): fabricated by Metropolitan Woodworking, 301/322-3417, metropolitanwoodworking.com.
    Wall upholstery (designed by Skip Sroka): fabricated by Al Soussan, Custom Furniture & Wall Upholstery, 301/216-1520, wallsupholstered.com.
    Light fixture (vintage Orrefors, by Quotient); area rug (custom): Sroka Design, 301/263-9100, srokadesign.com.
    Chair at right ("Anziano Chair" #90002): Donghia, 914/662-2377, donghia.com.

  • Werner Straube
  • Werner Straube

    Chest; pair of vases: Sroka Design, 301/263-9100, srokadesign.com.
    Pair of chairs: Target, target.com.
    Mirror: antique.
    Flower holder: Niermann Weeks, 212/319-7979, niermannweeks.com.
    Small bookends: Metropolitan Museum of Art Shop, 800/468-7386, store.metmuseum.org.
    Paint ("Print Room Yellow" #69): Farrow & Ball, 888/511-1121, farrow-ball.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Wall covering ("Fidenza Ground"/Natural #528940): Schumacher, 800/523-1200, fschumacher.com.
    Upholstered sofa; blue pillows on sofa: owner's collection.
    Gold-patterned pillows on sofa: Brunschwig & Fils, 800/538-1880, brunschwig.com.
    Burgundy pillow: antique.
    Coffee table ("Greek Key Coffee Table" #CT10): Salvations Architectural Furnishings, 301/445-1400, salvationsaf.com.
    Bowl on coffee table (blue with gold); footed bowl (antique); box (antique); pair of chairs (antique); right end table (antique): owner's collection.
    Left end table: La Barge Inc., 336/812-2420, labargeinc.com.
    Table lamps: Grant Antiques, 301/215-9292, grantantiques.com.
    Drapery (cream linen): Norbar Fabrics, 800/645-8501, norbarfabrics.com. Drapery trim (Tweeded Braid"/Camel #TA5214-16): Kravet, 888/457-2838, kravet.com.
    Shade fabric ("Ravenna Embroidery"/Bone #64742): Schumacher, 800/523-1200, fschumacher.com.
    Area rug (custom): Sroka Design, 301/263-9100, srokadesign.com.
    Art behind sofa (by David Shapiro): Bill Lowe Gallery, 404/352-8114. lowegallery.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Mantel (designed by Skip Sroka): fabricated by Concrete Jungle, 301/874-1001, concretejungleonline.com.
    Mirror: custom.
    Sconces: antique.
    Lounge chair; pillow on lounge chair; floor lamp: owner's collection.
    Chair to left of mantel: BSG, Buying Service Group Inc., 301/263-9300, buy4designers.com.
    Round table (antique); chair to right of round table (antique): owner's collection.
    Urn lamp (Siramos); rug (custom): through Sroka Design, 301/263-9100, srokadesign.com.
    Daybed; pillow on daybed: owner's collection.
    Armoire/bar cabinet (designed by Skip Sroka): Sroka Design, 301/263-9100, srokadesign.com.

  • Werner Straube
  • Werner Straube
  • Werner Straube

    Wall covering: Paul Montgomery Studio, 540/337-6600, paulmontgomery.com.
    Table: owner's collection.
    Chairs: BSG Inc., Buying Service Group Inc., 301/263-9300, buy4designers.com.
    Buffet (Lucien Rollin Collection): William Switzer & Assoc., 212/207-8332, lucienrollin.com.
    Mirror ("The Cottingham Park" #6804, Traditional Collection): Friedman Brothers Decorative Arts, 800/327-1065, friedmanmirrors.com.
    Chandelier (from Paris): owner's collection.
    Sconces: antique.
    Blue-and-white urn on pedestal; blue vase on table; chargers (Limoges); dinnerware (Limoges); salad plates (vintage) owner's collection.
    Napkin rings (discontinued): Dransfield & Ross, 212/741-7278, dransfieldandross.biz. Yellow glassware: antique.
    Crystal candlesticks: Tiffany & Co., tiffany.com.
    Crystal candlesticks: antique.

  • Werner Straube

    Cabinetry: Wood-Mode, 877/635-7500, wood-mode.com. Cooktop: Electrolux, 877/435-3287, electroluxappliances.com. Hood: Vent-a-Hood, 800/331-2492, ventahood.com. Countertop: Durango marble.
    Chandelier over island: vintage.

  • Werner Straube

    Wall paint ("Harbor Haze" #2136-60); ceiling paint ("Hollingsworth Green" #HC-141): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com.
    Table ("Dakota Glass Dining Table"): Julian Chichester, 336/886-2454, julianchichester.co.uk.
    Chairs: owner's collection.
    Chair fabric ("Shira"/Citron #P9080): Pindler & Pindler, 805/531-9090, pindler.com.
    Chair trim (2-inch Flat Tape #7242-84): Duralee Fabrics, 800/275-3872, duralee.com.
    Pottery collection (McCoy pottery): owner's collection.
    Dinnerware: Bloomingdales, bloomingdales.com.
    Green glassware: Crate & Barrel, 800/996-9960, crateandbarrel.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Bed (custom, by Skip Sroka): Sroka Design, 301/263-9100, srokadesign.com.
    Bed linens: Frette, 212/299-0400, frette.com.
    Decorative pillow on bed: owner's collection.
    Night tables: antique.
    Table lamps (by Visual Comfort): Circa Lighting, 877/762-2323, circalighting.com.
    Art over bed: owner's collection.
    Armoire: antique.
    Carpet: Godfrey Hirst, 800/480-7134, godfreyhirst.com.
    Mural panels: Kay Jones, 310/347-7877, kayjonesmurals.com.
    Striped chair: owner's collection.
    Blue chair: antique.
    Wall color ("Simply White" #OC-117); ceiling color ("Whispering Spring" #2136-70): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com.

  • Werner Straube
  • Werner Straube

    Tub; fixtures ("Pinstripe"): Kohler, 800/456-4537, kohler.com. Tub surround: Wood-Mode, 877/635-7500, wood-mode.com. Blinds: Hunter Douglas, 800/789-0331, hunterdouglas.com.
    Trim and ceiling paint ("Mink" #2112-10): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com.
    Flooring: Crema Marfil with Emperador Brown.

  • Werner Straube

    Bed: Sroka Design, 301/263-9100, srokadesign.com.
    Headboard fabric: leather. Bed linens: Frette, 212/299-0400, frette.com.
    Upholstered bench; art over bed; night table; table lamp: owner's collection.
    Fireplace tile ("Marquis Octagon & Rectangle," Studio Moderne Collection by Michael Berman): Walker Zanger, walkerzanger.com.
    Carpet: Masland, 800/633-0468, maslandcarpets.com.
    Wall finish (strié): Monkton Studios, 410/343-0238, monktonstudios.com.
    Pair of chairs: Beachley, out of business.
    Pillows on lounge chairs: Brunschwig & Fils, 800/538-1880, brunschwig.com.
    Ottoman (custom): Sroka Design, 301/263-9100, srokadesign.com.
    Ottoman fabric: Brunschwig & Fils, 800/538-1880, brunschwig.com.
    Round mirror: antique.

  • Werner Straube
  • Werner Straube
  • The Sidecar, price available upon request from Moore & Giles [1-800-737-0169]

    This beautifully crafted bar cart, The Sidecar by Moore and Giles, is a great way to store liquor, glassware, bar tools, and anything else needed to complete your own miniature bar. The cart, made of Virginia black walnut, birch, leather, aluminum, and brass, is wheeled to make sure the party can travel with you. Perfect for drink-lovers without the space for a full bar.