You are here

Classic Architecture, Bathed in Golds, Beiges and Creams

Golds, beiges, and creams reign supreme in a timeless home

Written by Ted Loos
  • Prev
  • next
  • 1 of 17
  • Werner Straube

    Flooring (“Crema Parador,” marble): Chadwick’s Surfaces International, 847/680-3222, chadwickssurfaces.net 
    Carpet on stairs (custom, wool/silk): Hokanson, 800/560-8834, hokansoncarpet.com
    Hanging fixture (custom); sconce (custom): Soucie Horner Ltd., 312/755-0202, souciehorner.com
    Fabrication: Doug Seaman, Archistoric Workshop, 312/829-6290, archistoric.com
    Paint (“White Dove” #OC-17): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667.

  • Werner Straube

    Rug: owner’s collection.
    Sofa (#2808): A. Rudin, 312/494-9300, arudin.com
    Sofa fabric (Pinstripe Plush”/Lichen #5050/03): Pollack, 212/627-7766, pollackassociates.com
    Chair in foreground (“Napoleon Lounge Chair”): Nancy Corzine, 312/645-4500, nancycorzine.com 
    Chair fabric: custom.
    Pair of chairs flanking fireplace (#453): A. Rudin, 312/494-9300. Chair fabric (“Veronese”/Spun Gold #1139-02): ClassicCloth, 785/434-7200.
    Side table by chair (“Wyndham Side Table” #4037): Dessin Fournir, 785/434-2777.
    Chaise (custom): Barron Custom Furniture, 312/829-4974, barroncustomfurniture.com
    Chaise fabric (“Carlardon”/Sand, discontinued): Rose Tarlow-Melrose House, 323/651-2202, rosetarlow.com
    Pillows: Textures by Lynda O’Connor, 312/576-6200.
    Cocktail tables (#114-2, discontinued): Swaim Inc., 336/885-6131, swaim-inc.com 
    Clock (antique): Anna’s Mostly Mahogany, 847/432-9151.
    Side table by chaise (#47-4, discontinued): Swaim Inc., 336/885-6131, swaim-inc.com 
    Table lamp: Decorative Crafts Inc., 800/431-4455, decorativecrafts.com
    Small chair in front of French doors: Kevin L. Perry Antiques, 941/366-8483.
    Pair of antique chests: Joseph Konrad Antiques, 404/261-3224, josephkonrad.com
    Mirrors above chests: owner’s collection.
    Drapery (“Sheer Verona”/Dijon #C30850): Coraggio Textiles, 800/624-2420, coraggio.com
    Drapery hardware: Van Gregory & Norton, vangregoryandnorton.com
    Mantel: Stone Design Inc., 800/424-1332, stone-design.com
    Millwork manufacturer for fireplace surround and mantel: White River Architectural Salvage & Antiques, 317/924-4000, whiteriversalvage.com
    Tole fireplace surround (custom): La Forge Francaise, 631/591-0572, laforgefrancaise.com
    Art over fireplace: owner’s collection.
    Paint (“White Dove” #OC-17): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667.

  • Werner Straube
  • Werner Straube
  • Werner Straube
  • Werner Straube
  • Werner Straube

    Table (custom): Soucie Horner Ltd., 312/755-0202.
    Fabricaton: Barron Custom Furniture, 312/829-4974.
    Chairs (#455): A. Rudin, 312/494-9300.
    Chair fabric: ClassicCloth, 785/434-7200.
    Chandelier (custom): Soucie Horner Ltd., 312/755-0202.
    Fabrication: New Metal Crafts, 312/787-6991, newmetalcrafts.com
    Rug (silk): Oscar Isberian Rugs, 800/998-3693, isberian.com
    Wall treatment (faux finish): Christiaan Pretorius Studio, 773/489-9704, pretoriusstudio.com

  • Werner Straube

    Buffet (“Regency Flame Sideboard” circa 1815): Joseph Hayes Antiques, 614/429-6001.
    Sconces: (“Corvette,” custom): Muray’s Iron Works, murraysiw.com

  • Werner Straube

    Sofa (“Jamaica” #650-01); leather chair in foreground (“Writer’s Chair” #913-03): Ralph Lauren Home, 888/475-7674, ralphlaurenhome.com
    Sofa fabric: discontinued.
    Wood settee (custom Gustavian sofa): Charles Pollack Reproductions Inc., 323/962-0440, charlespollackrepro.com
    Settee fabric (“Erevan”/Café #F2592001): Pierre Frey, 866/707-1524, pierrefrey.com
    Rug (“Sacramento”/Spruce, The Larsen Collection): owner’s collection.
    Coffee table (custom): Barron Custom Furniture, 312/829-4974.
    Pair of upholstered armchairs (“Montebello Lounge Chair”); ottoman (“Montebello Ottoman”): Scott Arthur Yerkey Furniture Inc., 773/883-0775, scottarthuryerkey.com
    Armchair fabric (“Toccata”/Peat #92507-06): Rogers & Goffigon, 203/532-8068.
    Ottoman fabric (“Sassi”/Mink #9738/05): Glant Textiles Corp., 800/884-5268, glant.com
    Floor lamp: Material Possessions, 888/241-1190, materialpossessions.com Pillows: Textures by Lynda O’Connor, 312/576-6200.
    Plaid pillows (“Buffalo Check”/Neutron #34015-1): Clarence House, 800/803-2850, clarencehouse.com 
    Paint (“Indian White” #OC-88): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667.

  • Werner Straube

    Cabinetry (custom); oven hood (custom): All Seasons Woodworks, 269/428-2030.
    Cabinetry hardware (“New Design Collection,” by Merit): Chicago Brass, 312/245-0200, chicagobrass.com
    Island countertop (Costa Esmerelda granite); perimeter countertops (Calacutta Gold marble); backsplash tile (Calacutta Gold marble): Damar Natural Stone Imports Inc., 800/432-6270, damarstone.com
    Range; wall ovens: Wolf, 800/222-7820, subzero-wolf.com Sink fixtures: Grohe America Inc., 800/201-3407, groheamerica.com
    Hanging light fixtures: Joseph Konrad Antiques, 404/261-3224, josephkonrad.com
    Stools: owner’s collection.
    Desk chair (#6855B.1): Bausman & Co., 909/947-0139, bausman.net
    Paint and cabinet finish (“White Dove” #OC-17): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667.
    Butcher block cabinet finish: custom.
    Flooring: quarter sawn oak.

  • Werner Straube

    Wallpaper (“Madrid”/Ivory and Gold on Beige #WP81089A-007); duvet and Euro shams (custom, “Palazzo Stripe”/Mole and Camel #26572-002); gold pillows with stripe: Scalamandré, 800/932-4361, scalamandre.com
    Bedding: Muse, 866/212-6873, musegroup.com
    Bed (custom); round ottoman (custom): Soucie Horner Ltd., 312/755-0202, souciehorner.com
    Bed and ottoman fabrication: Barron Custom Furniture, 312/829-4974. Headboard fabric (“Velvet Linen”): Cowtan & Tout, 212/647-6900.
    Ottoman fabric (“Takla”/Dusk, discontinued): ClassicCloth, 785/434-7200.
    Table lamp (“Oscar Table Lamp,” Steve Jensen Collection): Charles Pollock Showroom, 312/379-0035, charlespollockshowroom.com
    Chair and ottoman: Al Vivo Upholstery, 312/226-7779.
    Fabric on chair and ottoman (“Villa Striae”/Marcasite, discontinued): Schumacher, 800/523-1200, fschumacher.com
    Side table: owner’s collection.
    Floor lamp (“St. Germain Floor Lamp” #6004): Dessin Fournir, 785/434-2777.
    Rug: Oscar Isberian Rugs, 800/998-3693, isberian.com
    Carpet (“Woolshire Hundred Count”): Woolshire Carpet Mills Inc., 800/799-6657, woolshire.com
    Shade fabric (“Driftwood”/Calypso, by Larsen, discontinued): Cowtan & Tout, 212/647-6900.
    Chandelier (“Moderne II #2031B): 20th Century Lighting, 816/421-2125, 20thcenturylighting.com
    Mirror; art over mantel: owner’s collection.
    Fire screen: Decorative Crafts Inc., 800/431-4455.
    Mantel: custom.

  • Werner Straube

    Sofa: owner’s collection.
    Re-upholstering: Barron Custom Furniture, 312/829-4974.
    Sofa fabric: (“Chaine”/Sand, Ebony #49): Glant Textiles Corp., 800/884-5268, glant.com
    White pillow (lamb): Finishing Touch, 773/631-0360.
    Patterned pillows (“Trelleborg”/Metro #9421): Pindler & Pindler, 805/531-9090, pindler.com
    End table by window (“Lumine Chest” #44191-770, discontinued): Thomasville, thomasville.com 
    Table lamp (#S5051-206, by Pride Sasser): Beacon Hill, 800/333-3777, beaconhilldesign.com
    Chairs: owner’s collection.
    Chair fabric (“Pattaya Plush”/Ebony #5052-07): Pollack, 212/627-7766, pollackassociates.com
    Coffee table; area rug; drapery: owner’s collection.
    Chandelier (“Serena Bowl Chandelier” #FNL-1512): Mecox Gardens, 800/487-4854, mecoxgardens.com
    Wall treatment (custom, crosshatched strié finish): Christiaan Pretorius Studio, 773/489-9704, pretoriusstudio.com
    Trim and ceiling paint (“White Dove”): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667.

  • Werner Straube

    Marble floor (“Avorio Sapone Marble”): Chadwick’s Surfaces International, 847/680-3222.
    Sheer drapery (“Twist of Fate”/Chance Meeting, #1302, colorway discontinued, by Great Plains): Holly Hunt, 312/661-1900, hollyhunt.com
    Tub fixtures (“St. Julien,” Sigma Reserve): American Faucet & Coatings Corp., 760/598-5895, sigmafaucet.com
    Candlesticks (by Gene Summers): Holly Hunt, 312/661-1900.
    Acrylic vanity bench (McLaughlin Collection): Edward Ferrell-Lewis Mittman Showroom, 312/822-9966.
    Sculpture: owner’s collection.
    Paint (“Indian White” #OC-88): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667.
    Tub surround and cabinetry: All Seasons Woodworks, 269/428-2030, allseasonswoodworks.com

  • Werner Straube
  • Werner Straube
  • Werner Straube

Comments

Loading comments...