You are here

California Style in a New York Apartment

A warm, west coast interior makes a home a Big Apple apartment

Written by Krissa Rossbund
  • Francesco Lagnese

    Wall covering (“Indian Flower”/Brown #5004/03, by Jasper): Michael S Smith Inc., 310/315-3018, michaelsmithinc.com
    Sideboard; art over sideboard; yellow pots on sideboard; elephant on sideboard: owner’s collection.
    Lamps on sideboard: English Country Antiques, 631/537-0606, ecantiques.com

  • Francesco Lagnese

    Sofa (“Lennox” #341-S); sofa fabric (“Matchsticks” #2062): Rose Tarlow-Melrose House, 323/651-2202, rosetarlow.com 
    Pillows on sofa; coffee table; art behind sofa; side tables: owner’s collection.
    Drawing beside lamp: owner’s collection.
    Black lamp: English Country Antiques, 631/537-0606, ecantiques.com
    Club chair (“Victoria Club Chair” #3-130); chair fabric (“Brianza Scroll”/Harvest Sand #2306/5): Rose Tarlow-Melrose House, 323/651-2202, rosetarlow.com
    Leather bench beside club chair: owner’s collection.
    Floor lamp (by Visual Comfort): through Circa Lighting, 877/762-2323, circalighting.com
    Gilt chair (“Regency Bamboo-Caned Bergère”/Antique Gold finish #2001): Dessin Fournir, 785/434-2777, dessinfournir.com
    Chair fabric (“Delauney Silk Velvet”/Aubergine, by Travers, discontinued): Zimmer + Rohde, 203/327-1400, zimmer-rohde.com
    Rug (herringbone Seagrass with leather trim): Patterson Flynn & Martin, 212/688-7700, pattersonflynnmartin.com
    Area rug over sea-grass rug: owner’s collection.
    Wall covering (“Summer Wall”/Golden): Donghia, 914/662-2377, donghia.com
    Ceiling and trim paint (“Palace White” #956): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com

  • Francesco Lagnese

    White lamp (“Stout Double Gourd,” by Christopher Spitzmiller); box beside white lamp: Mecox Gardens, 800/487-4854, mecoxgardens.com
    Drapery (discontinued): Scalamandré, 800/932-4361, scalamandre.com
    Shades: Conrad, 866/426-6723, conradshades.com

  • Francesco Lagnese
  • Francesco Lagnese

    Wall covering (“Summer Wall”/Golden #9700-03, paper-backed linen, teflon finished): Donghia, 914/662-2377, donghia.com
    Chinoiserie chest: Greenwich Oriental Antiques, 203/629-0500, greenwichorientalantiques.com.
    Mirror (“Sun Mirror”): Oly, 775/336-2100, olystudio.com.
    Lamps; chairs; chair-seat fabric (discontinued); accessories: owner’s collection.
    Flooring: white oak.

  • Francesco Lagnese

    Drapery (“Tropicale” #2310): Rose Tarlow-Melrose House, 323/651-2202, rosetarlow.com
    Drapery fabrication: Helen’s Draperies and More, 212/289-6060.
    Shades: Conrad, 866/426-6723, conradshades.com
    Dining table; caned chairs; seat cushions on caned chairs: owner’s collection.
    Side chair (“Federal Chair”/custom finish #2454S): Artistic Frame, 212/289-2100, artisticframe.com
    Chair fabric (“Linen Velvet” #2401/14, by Great Plains, discontinued): Holly Hunt, 312/661-1900, hollyhunt.com
    Light fixture (“Brass Hanging Shade Large” #CL86/L): Vaughan Designs, 212/319-7070, vaughandesigns.com
    Lampshade fabric (“Faille de Tours”/Sucre de Canne): Claremont Furnishing Fabrics Co., 212/486-1252, claremontfurnishing.com

  • Francesco Lagnese

    Wood chair with gilt; art behind chair: owner’s collection.

  • Francesco Lagnese
  • Francesco Lagnese

    Flooring: All State Resilient Flooring, 718/526-7890, allstaterubber.com
    Wall covering: Rose Tarlow-Melrose House, 323/651-2202, rosetarlow.com
    Range: Viking, 888/845-4641, vikingrange.com
    Range hood: Best Range Hoods, 800/558-1711, bestrangehoods.com
    Bar stools: owner’s collection.
    Light over area with bar stools (by Visual Comfort): through Circa Lighting, 877/762-2323, circalighting.com

  • Francesco Lagnese

    Sink: Franke KSD, 800/626-5771, frankeksd.com.
    Faucet: Dornbracht USA, 800/774-1181, dornbracht.com
    Countertops (“Calcutta Gold”): Artistic Tile, 877/528-5401, artistictile.com
    Cabinetry; hardware: SieMatic Corp., 888/316-2665, siematic.com

  • Francesco Lagnese

    Chair-and-a-half (“Mayfair Lounge Chair” #CH228-SK, by Edward Ferrell): Edward Ferrell + Lewis Mittman, 336/841-3028, ef-lm.com
    Chair fabric (“Samperling Plain”/Grits #910048-1); chair trim (“Silk Brush Fringe”): Rogers & Goffigon, 203/532-8068.
    Metal table beside chair-and-a-half: owner’s collection.

  • Francesco Lagnese

    Console table: Greenwich Oriental Antiques, 203/629-0500, greenwichorientalantiques.com
    Bench under console; art over console: owner’s collection.
    Sconce: “Gunston” by Michael Amato, Urban Electric Company, 843/723-81400, urbanelectricco.com
    Wall covering: (“Summer Wall”/Golden #9700-03, paper-backed linen, teflon finished): Donghia, 914/662-2377, donghia.com

  • Francesco Lagnese

    Bed (“Quincy Bed”/Elsinore Storm #2020): Summer Hill Ltd., 212/935-6376, summerhill.com
    Bed fabric (“Versailles”/Celeri #2026/1): Rose Tarlow-Melrose House, 323/651-2202, rosetarlow.com
    Bed linens, duvet: Eileen Fisher for Garnet Hill, 800/870-3513, garnethill.com
    Waffle-weave blanket: Brahms Mount, 800/545-9347, brahmsmount.com
    Patterned pillow on bed: owner’s collection.
    Nightstand (small Gustavian bureau/Antique Gray #GUS 041-1-0): Chelsea Textiles, 908/233-5645, chelseatextiles.com
    Area rug (“Linen Basket”/Ficelle #17891): Patterson Flynn & Martin, 212/688-7700, pattersonflynnmartin.com
    Drapery (“Chateau Lafitte”/Beige #33937-1): Clarence House, 800/803-2850, clarencehouse.com
    Shades: Conrad, 866/426-6723, conradshades.com
    Desk; desk chair; desk lamp: owner’s collection.
    Wall paint (“Richmond Gray” #HC-96); ceiling and trim paint (“Palace White” #956): Benjamin Moore & Co., 888/236-6667, benjaminmoore.com

  • Francesco Lagnese
  • Francesco Lagnese

    Chaise (#301, custom): Avery Boardman, 212/688-6611, averyboardman.com
    Chaise fabric (“Back to Basics”/Spring Green, by Great Plains, discontinued): Holly Hunt, 312/661-1900, hollyhunt.com
    Chaise welt (“Versailles”/Celeri): Rose Tarlow-Melrose House, 323/651-2202, rosetarlow.com
    Side table beside chaise: owner’s collection.

  • Francesco Lagnese

    Dresser; lamp; artwork; tray with bottle collection: owner’s collection.

  • Francesco Lagnese
  • Francesco Lagnese

    Sconces (“Chinoiserie Mirror Wall Light”/Lady #WL96L, & “Chinoiserie Mirror Wall Light”/Gentleman #WL96G): Vaughan Designs, 212/319-7070, vaughandesigns.com
    Sink (“Obidos Bronze Basin” #AS7789); faucet (“One Wall-Mounted Basin Set” #P24410-CR): Ann Sacks, 800/278-8453, annsacks.com
    Wall finish: Pollmann/Suran, 718/807-6277, psfinishes.com
    Vanity console; stool; mirror: owner’s collection.

  • Francesco Lagnese
  • The Sidecar, price available upon request from Moore & Giles [1-800-737-0169]

    This beautifully crafted bar cart, The Sidecar by Moore and Giles, is a great way to store liquor, glassware, bar tools, and anything else needed to complete your own miniature bar. The cart, made of Virginia black walnut, birch, leather, aluminum, and brass, is wheeled to make sure the party can travel with you. Perfect for drink-lovers without the space for a full bar.