You are here

New York Loft with Great Color

Liliane Hart finds gold (and just about every other color) at the end of a New York City loft redesign

Written and produced by Jenny Bradley Pfeffer
  • John Bessler

    Color introverts among us (and there are many) inevitably turn to the steadfast comfort of a neutral palette as a design safety net. Color commitment often occurs only after subtle yet considerable arm-twisting from an interior designer. 

    Perhaps that’s why designer Liliane Hart (a Traditional Home 2017 New Trad) found it galvanizing when Sudie Anning requested a prismatic palette for the New York City loft she shares with husband Kevin Raidy and their children, 11-year-old Sydney and James, 8.

    “I told Lili that I didn’t want to be beholden to any one color,” Sudie says. (Apt, perhaps, for an Emmy Award-winning producer of Reading Rainbow.) “I wanted a little bit of all of them. Even now, I sometimes think I might want more color—purple, maybe.”

    With her color wheel operating at full tilt, Hart compiled a daring yet chromatically comfortable mix of hues and patterns that give a cheerful jolt to the loft’s white walls. 

    Photography: John Bessler

    Interior designer: Liliane Hart, Liliane Hart Design, 1123 Broadway, Suite 905, New York, NY 10010; 212/505-9791; lilianehart.com

  • John Bessler

    Rainbow Effect

    “The palette really started with the kilim rug in the living room,” Hart says. “Those colors were the building blocks for everything else. It gave us the parameters we needed for our final color story.”

    From that jumping-off point, Hart amplified things with a mix of jewel tones—some earthy, some bright and punchy. Muddied green pairs with indigo blue and striated red. A paprika-hue fabric on an old brass rocker balances a blue geometric floral on vintage wing chairs. Push and pull. Warm and cool. All chosen to create a comfortable, casual mix meant to be cosmopolitan yet unintimidating.

    A striped kilim rug from Vaughan was the impetus for the kaleidoscopic palette. Its colorful striations in blue, green, paprika, and red are repeated throughout the living area.

    Sofa “O. Henry Sofa”: John Rosselli; johnrosselli.com.
    Fabric for sofa: Rose Tarlow; rosetarlow.com.
    Pillow fabrics by C&C Milano: Grizzel & Mann; grizzelandmann.com.
    Fabric for midcentury rocker: Suzanne Rheinstein; suzannerheinstein.com.
    Coffee table: Restoration Hardware; rh.com.
    Striped kilim rug: Vaughan; vaughandesigns.com.
    Lamps: Arteriors; arteriorshome.com.
    Bleached side tables flanking sofa: Jayson Home; jaysonhome.com.
    Framed artwork trio by Isabel Bigelow: Sears Peyton Gallery; searspeyton.com.

  • John Bessler

    Corner Office

    And while each public space—living and dining areas and a corner office—has a personality all its own, a common thread ensures that all play together nicely.

    An antique Spanish farmhouse table and aluminum-and-leather chairs from Noir create a chic office space. 

    Desk “Antique Spanish Farmhouse Table”: homeowners’ collection.
    Chairs “Leather Chair Half Aluminum” by Noir Furniture: Candelabra; shopcandelabra.com.
    Lamp “Painted Baluster Lamp”: John Rosselli; johnrosselli.com.
    Framed artwork above desk by Jen Wink Hayes:  Sears Peyton Gallery; searspeyton.com.

  • John Bessler

    Loft Kitchen

    “Sudie wanted a fun, colorfully casual home that works well for family time and entertaining,” Hart says. “There are no formal rooms. This was really about carving out spaces and making it playful and fun, warm and welcoming.”

  • John Bessler

    Dining Area

    That meant creating niches that accommodate movie night and family time as easily as dinner guests and cocktail parties. “I love to entertain,” Sudie says. “But we didn’t want anything to be off-limits to the kids. They hoverboard around the dining room, and Sydney had a balance beam in the middle of the living room for a bit. It’s their home, too, so I didn’t want it to be that serious. My goal is for someone to come in and feel comfortable and at home instantly.”

    The hues of a chair upholstered in Katie Leede’s graphic floral fabric and a turquoise buffet visually connect the dining space to the living area. The iron chandelier from RH acts as a focal point.

    Rug “Mazandaran Flat Weave”: Nasiri; nasiricarpets.com.
    White vases: Aero; aerostudios.com.
    Side chair by Noir Furniture: Candelabra; shopcandelabra.com.
    Fabric for wing chair “Papyrus” in Amulet: Katie Leede & Co.; katieleede.com. Chandelier “Orb”: Restoration Hardware; rh.com.
    Sideboards (two placed side by side) Van Thiel collection: Zin Home; zinhome.com.
    Lamps on sideboards “Modern Hammond Column Table Lamp” in Hand-Rubbed Antique Brass with Natural Paper Shade by Thomas O’Brien for Visual Comfort: Circa Lighting; circalighting.com.
    Small lights at center of sideboards “Surface Sconce” in Bronze: Studio Henry Wilson; henrywilson.com.au.
    Framed artwork: Lumas; lumas.com.

  • John Bessler

    Artful Moment

    To create a hoverboard-friendly space, furnishings aren’t overly precious. Rush-weave dining chairs create texture and complement a rustic farm table found in a vintage shop in Amagansett, New York. Brass lamps lend a dash of glamour to a patinated turquoise-painted buffet that acts as a colorful connection to the adjacent living area.

    A midcentury-style bench offers a cozy place to perch under monoprints by Betty Merken. 

    Framed artwork Illumination by Betty Merken: Russo Lee Gallery; russoleegallery.com

  • John Bessler

    Family Room

    Because of the Tribeca building’s history—it was built as a dairy warehouse in 1890— the look embraces its industrial side. Original rough-hewn beams and cast-iron columns are emphasized instead of downplayed. An antique walnut farmhouse table from Spain is used as a desk and paired with industrial aluminum-and-leather chairs. A large iron chandelier acts as a focal point—visible from every living space.

    An abstract wallcovering from Phillip Jeffries plays off a wing chair in a spray-dyed velvet from Zoffany. 

    Sofa “O. Henry Sofa”: John Rosselli; johnrosselli.com.
    Wing chair: Lawson-Fenning; lawsonfenning.com.
    Coffee table: Vanguard Furniture; vanguardfurniture.com.
    Floor lamp “IC Floor”: Flos; usa.flos.com.
    Wallpaper “Fade” in Sea Spray on White Manila Hemp: Phillip Jeffries; phillipjeffries.com.
    Persian rug: Nasiri; nasiricarpets.com.

  • John Bessler

    Master Bedroom

    In the master bedroom, the original brick walls are painted white to showcase a palette of pale taupe, green, and garnet red. It’s Sudie’s haven—an escape that’s used for both meditation and family TV time.

    A bright fabric from Tulu adds irreverence to the bedroom’s serene aesthetic. The custom headboard is upholstered in fabric by Penny Morrison.

    Fabric for bed “Rumeli”: Penny Morrison; pennymorrison.com.
    King pillows and coverlet: John Robshaw; johnrobshaw.com.
    Block print pillows: Elizabeth Eakins; elizabetheakins.com.
    Mirrored chest, lamp: Currey & Co.; curreycodealers.com.
    Fabric for bench and peacock chair cushion “Wafa”: Tulu Textiles; tulutextiles.com.
    Bench by Noir Furniture: Candelabra; shopcandelabra.com.
    Moroccan rug: Orientalist Home; orientalisthome.com.

  • John Bessler

    Boy's Room

    “The apartment just turned out so playful and easy,” Hart says. “It doesn’t take itself too seriously. I think that’s a reflection of this family and the fun that decoration can play in your life. It puts a smile on your face.” 

    Shades of blue dress James' room in style.

  • John Bessler

    Portrait

    Sudie Anning joins her kids, Sydney and James Raidy, outside their loft, part of New York’s Tribeca West Historic District. 

  • John Merkl