You are here

Decorating with...Sunshine!

A San Francisco-area home is drenched with the sunny side of mother nature

Written by Krissa Rossbund
  • Werner Straube
  • Werner Straube

    Sofas ("Chelsea II" with a tight channelled back); ottoman ("Marquis Ottoman"): Patricia Edwards, 562/776-1771, patriciaedwards.com.
    Sofa fabric ("Bird & Basket"/Bright on Oyster): Bennison, 323/653-7277, bennisonfabrics.com.
    Ottoman fabric ("Tigre"/Ivory, Gold, Black #26167-1); pillow fabric ("Cosmos"/Azalea, colorway discontinued); pillow trim ("Moulin"/Roses #FT1332-16): Scalamandré, 800/932-4361, scalamandre.com.
    Pillow fabrication and ottoman upholstering: Trickey Studio, 415/864-6516, trickeystudio.com.
    Rug (antique, Persian Sultanabad): Claremont Rug Co., 800/441-1332, claremontrug.com.
    Fauteuils: owner's collection.
    Fauteuil fabric, front: Pierre Frey, 212/213-3099, pierrefrey.com.
    Fauteuil fabric, back ("Mermaid"/Red Hue, colorway discontinued): Zimmer+Rohde, 866/627-6899, zimmer-rohde.com.
    Mantel ("The Burlington," limestone): Chesney's, 646/840-0609, chesneys.co.uk.
    Art over mantel (antique, from Jernigan Wicker Fine Arts in Paris, France); console to left of mantel; lamps on console (antique); mirror (antique); sconces: owner's collection.
    Console under mirror (antique, Italian Commode): Threshold, 415/409-1966.
    Drapery (Ivory Silk Taffeta): Myra Hoefer Design, 707/433-7837, myrahoeferdesign.com.
    Coffee table ("Durant"/Tiveli Gold): Minton-Spidell Inc., 310/836-0403, minton-spidell.com.
    Upholstered chairs ("Brittany"): Patricia Edwards, 562/776-1771, patriciaedwards.com.
    Chair fabric ("Lafayette"/colorway discontinued #4328, by Manuel Canovas): Cowtan & Tout, 212/647-6900, cowtan.com.
    Wainscoting, trim, ceiling molding (Victorian/Box beam finished with egg & dart plaster, designed by Samantha Lyman): fabricated by McCauley Construction, 415/883-3926, mccauleyconstruction.com.
    Paint ("White Tie" #2002): Farrow & Ball, 888/511-1121, farrow-ball.com.
    Glassware; architectural columns: owner's collection.
    Three-footed vessel (Han Dynasty); black urn: Samantha Lyman Interior Design, 415/461-4551, samanthalyman.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Dining table ("Directoire" #11-9902); chandelier ("Annecy"/Antique Gold #41-0604): David Iatesta, 410/604-0360, davidiatesta.com.
    Chairs by window: owner's collection.
    Pillows ("Olivia Stripe"/Cockle #92908-05): Rogers & Goffigon, 203/532-8068.
    Side chairs ("Luxford Side Chair" #KJ1000, by Kerry Joyce): Dessin Fournir, 785/434-2777, dessinfournir.com.
    Side-chair fabric ("Boucheron"/Fog #NC0609-092): Nancy Corzine, 212/223-8340, nancycorzine.com.
    Boxbeam ceiling (designed by Samantha Lyman): fabricated by McCauley Construction, 415/883-3926, mccauleyconstruction.com.
    Flooring (white oak with limed finish): Larry Klosowski, Rode Bros., 415/431-0457, rodebros.com.
    Buffet (antique, French Empire Noyer Enfilade in Walnut): Tara Shaw, 713/533-9744, tarashaw.com.
    Prints above buffet (antique); console table (antique); blue velvet mirror; tables in sunroom; silver urn with flowers: owner's collection.
    Sconces ("Swedish Giltwood Wall Light" #WL61): Vaughan Designs, 212/319-7070, vaughandesigns.com.
    Vase on tabe: owner's collection.
    Mirror above console; window treatment ("Kelly Stripe"/Cherry); lamps in sunroom: through Myra Hoefer Design, 707/433-7837, myrahoeferdesign.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Table: Kendall Wilkinson Design, 415/409-1966, kendallwilkinsondesign.com.
    Vase ("Aalto Vase"): MOMA store, 800/851-4509, momastore.com.
    Flooring (white oak with limed finish): Larry Klosowski, Rode Bros., 415/431-0457, rodebros.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Paneling (designed by Samantha Lyman): Samantha Lyman: Interior Design Studio, 415/461-4551, samanthalyman.com.
    Fabrication: Stapp Fine Woodworking, 707/994-9225.
    Decorative/faux painting: Tina Wainwright, 707/695-0613.
    Sconces ("Single Arm French Library Sconce"): Circa Lighting, 877/762-2323, circalighting.com.
    Window treatment (Silk Taffeta): The Silk Trading Co., 323/954-9280, silktrading.com.
    Art above sofa (by Catherine McCarthy, 1995, mixed media): Hosfelt Gallery, 415/495-5454, hosfeltgallery.com.
    Sofa ("Canape Saint-Germain"): Mis En Demeure, 011 33 1 49 98 17 17, misendemeure.fr.
    Sofa fabric: Nobilis, 800/464-6670, nobilis.fr.
    Accent pillows: yellow silk.
    Ottoman ("Marquis Ottoman"): Patricia Edwards, 562/776-1771, patriciaedwards.com.
    Ottoman fabric ("Tigre"): Scalamandré, 800/932-4361, scalamandre.com.
    Armchair (antique, English Georgian); desk chair; accessories: owner's collection.
    Armchair fabric ("Mayfair Stripe"/Plum): Randolph & Hein, 800/844-9922, randolphhein.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Desk-chair fabrics ("Heavy Silk"/Burnished #2326-9; and "Heavy Silk"/Butterscotch #2326-10): Dogwood Fabrics, 800/883-5500, dogwoodfabrics.com.
    Desk ("Napoleon III Writing Table"): Yale Burge Antiques, 212/838-4005, yaleburge.com.
    Lamp on desk (antique stone lamp): designer's collection.

  • Werner Straube

    Sofa: owner's collection.
    Sofa fabric ("Durbar Strié/Pine #8973-450); striped chair fabric ("Riley Linen Stripe"/Celery #89619-404): Brunschwig & Fils. 800/538-1880, brunschwig.com.
    Chairs ("Jordan"); coffee table: Mis En Demeure, 011 33 1 49 98 17 17, misendemeure.fr.
    Green print accent pillows: Emily Joubert Home & Garden, 650/851-3520, emilyjoubert.com.
    Tapestry pillows: owner's collection.
    White accent pilows: Samantha Lyman: Interior Design Studio, 415/461-4551, samanthalyman.com.
    Rug ("Dark Continent Area Rug," discontinued): Floordesign Inc., 415/626-1005, floordesigns.com.
    Built-in bookshelves/cabinetry: Sapp Fine Woodworking, 707/542-1225.
    Mantel ("The Burlington," limestone): Chesney's, 646/840-0609, chesneys.co.uk.
    Candlesticks: Myra Hoefer Design, 707/433-7837, myrahoeferdesign.com.
    Art to left of television (by Wade Hoefer): owner's collection.
    Television: Sharp Electronics Corp., 800/237-4277, sharpusa.com.
    Drapery: Nancy Corzine, 212/223-8340, nancycorzine.com.
    Sconces ("Graeber Two-Arm Sconce"/Distressed Gold #MS116/2): Lamplight Designs, 800/862-3525, lamplightdesigns.com.
    Paint ("White Tie" #2002): Farrow & Ball, 888/511-1121, farrow-ball.com.
    Porcelain cat (antique): owner's collection.

  • Werner Straube

    Art ("Plan de Paris"): owner's collection.
    Sconces: Vaughan Designs, 212/319-7070, vaughandesigns.com.
    Front door (custom design by Greg Johnson): fabricated by McCauley Construction, 415/883-3926, mccauleyconstruction.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Cabinetry; island cabinetry (designed by Greg Johnson): Stapp Fine Woodworking, 707/994-9225.
    Backsplash: G Force Glass, 415/727-3566.
    Countertops ("Calacatta Oro Gold"): Marble European Style, 510/614-8400.
    Cabinetry hardware ("Maddox" knobs and pulls/White Bronze): Rocky Mountain Hardware, 888/788-2013, rockymountainhardware.com.
    Main and island sinks: Franke Kitchen Systems Division, 800/626-5771, frankeksd.com.
    Main and island faucets; pot filler: Perrin & Rowe through Rohl, 800/777-9762, rohlhome.com.
    Refrigerator: Sub-Zero Inc., 800/222-7820, subzero.com.
    Microwave; coffee machine: Miele Inc., 800/843-7231, miele.com.
    Range: Wolf Appliance Inc., 800/332-9513, wolfappliance.com.
    Island chairs: custom.
    Chair leather ("Renaissance Leather #9265): Patricia Edwards, 562/776-1771, patriciaedwards.com.
    Chandelier: Lucca Antiques Inc., 310/657-7800, luccaantiques.com.
    Dishware: Juliska, 888/414-8448, juliska.com.
    Black urn on island: owner's collection.
    Pot: All-Clad Metalcrafters, all-clad.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Chandelier ("Turin Chandelier" #41-0517): David Iatesta, 410/604-0360, davidiatesta.com.
    Headboard (custom, "Eastern King Headboard"): Trickey Studio, 415/864-6516, trickeystudio.com.
    Headboard fabric ("Giudecca," by Sahco): Bergamo Fabrics, 914/665-0800, bergamofabrics.com.
    Crown above bed (antique): Victory Antique & Gifts, 612/926-8200, shopvictory.com.
    Crown drapery, interior, and vent in bed skirt (Veneziano"/Ivory & Gold #5083): Fortuny Inc., 212/753-7153.
    Crown drapery, exterior, and bed skirt ("Pirouette"/Plume #92905-11): Rogers & Goffigon, 203/532-8068.
    Large pillows: Designers Guild, designersguild.com.
    Bed linens (Nancy Koltes Fine Linens); benches at end of bed (custom, Biedermier): owner's collection.
    Bench fabric ("Grazia," by Sahco): Bergamo Fabrics, 914/665-0800, bergamofabrics.com.
    Trim (silver gimp): Scalamandré, 800/932-4361, scalamandre.com.
    Bedside tables (antique, Gustavian): Lief Inc., 310/492-0033.
    Lamp bases (Mercury glass): owner's collection.
    Lampshade fabric ("Bloom with a View"/Fresh as a Daisy): Gretchen Bellinger Inc., 518/235-2828, gretchenbellinger.com.
    Roman shades ("Pirouette"/Plume #92905-11); sheers ("Edelweiss"/Milk #91203-01): Rogers & Goffigon, 203/532-8068.
    Upholstering, drapery and bed-skirt fabrication: Trickey Studio, 415/864-6516, trickeystudio.com.
    Paint ("White Tie" #2002): Farrow & Ball, 888/511-1121, farrow-ball.com.
    Floors (white oak with limed finish, in a chevron pattern): Larry Klosowski, Rode Bros, 415/431-0457, rodebros.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Settee ("Versailles Love Seat"): Patricia Edwards, 562/776-1771, patriciaedwards.com.
    Settee fabric ("Feather One's Nest"/Pussywillow, discontinued): Gretchen Bellinger Inc., 518/235-2828, gretchenbellinger.com.
    Accent pillows ("Via Spiga," discontinued): Bergamo Fabrics, 914/665-0800, bergamofabrics.com.
    Trim ("Velours Gimp"): Nobilis, 800/464-6670, nobilis.fr.
    Drapery and Roman shades ("Pirouette"/Plume #92905-11); sheers ("Edelweiss"/Milk #91203-01): Rogers & Goffigon, 203/532-8068.
    Dresser (antique); vase on side table: owner's collection.
    Throw: No Harm Done Design, 208/720-1612.
    Nickel-and-glass side table ("Easton"): Waterworks, 800/899-6757, waterworks.com.

  • Werner Straube

    Chest of drawers ("Piedmont Commode"/Sepia #40-05693-4320): Niermann Weeks, 212/319-7979, niermannweeks.com.
    Mirror (antique); vase; lamp (antique): owner's collection.
    Silver tray: Reed & Barton, 800/343-1383, reedandbarton.com.
    Floor tiles (honey onyx and white onyx): Tile & Stone Concepts, 415/457-9422.

  • Werner Straube

    Landscape contractor: Audon Magana, Green Thumb Services, 415/505-7281.
    Pavers (Connecticut Select Bluestone): Wheeler Zamaroni Landscape Supplies, 707/543-8400.
    Stone wall (Elk Mountain Flagstone): fabricated by Kenny Rodgers Masonry Artisan, 562/428-1872.
    Entry gate (antique): Emily Joubert Home & Garden, 650/851-3520, emilyjoubert.com.
    Decorative finials, large: Holmes-Samsel Antiques, 415/864-7300, holmessamselantiques.com.
    Small finials at front door (antique): Fleur Inc., 914/241-3400, fleur-newyork.com.
    Exterior sconces ("Georgian 11-inch Curved-Arm Wall-Mount Lantern"/Architectural Bronze #EX-5411-A12): Brass Light Gallery, 800/243-9595, brasslight.com.
    Front door (custom design by Greg Johnson): fabricated by McCauley Construction, 415/883-3926, mccauleyconstruction.com.